31 Comments

Joy, Pain and Not Bringing Home Baby

 

Folio 55 verso : Phoenix (Fenix) rising from i...

 

By Kori Miller

The day our third baby died, I knew before I picked up the phone to call the doctor. I sat at the kitchen table. My husband left that morning for a month-long business trip to Calgary, Alberta, Canada. Our two other children played in the T.V. room. My palms were tacky as I picked up the phone. I spoke with a nurse. My voice — mechanical, flat.

“You should come into the office,” the nurse implored.

I disconnected. My hands shook. “Breathe,” I said.

“We need to go,” I instructed my children.

I got the kids and I cleaned-up and dressed in record time. “The bleeding wasn’t much. Maybe I was wrong,” I thought, as I secured the children into their car seats.

We’d decided to try a different doctor, closer to our new home, for our third child. Even now, years later, I can’t seem to forgive myself for that decision. I keep thinking, “If I’d gone back to our midwives, they’d have known. The new doctor didn’t find the heartbeat at our first office visit. That was a sign. A warning. Our pain could have ended much sooner.” She pretended it was normal. It wasn’t. I was in my late thirties.

There are experiences I can recall with complete clarity. My children were five and two. We entered the office — cold, unfriendly place I’d only visited once before. My new doctor was on vacation. They led me in to see a doctor I’d never met — a man.

I’d selected my new doctor in part because of gender. I didn’t want a male doctor. I made that clear from the beginning. Here I was, naked below the waist, being probed by this man. My children, hidden behind a curtain, giggled and played as this very calm man finished his inspection. He sat in a chair next to the ultrasound monitor.

There it was. It floated. It looked like all those images you see when protesters show you an unborn child. Ours should have been four months old by now. It wasn’t.

“What’s that?” My voice trembled. I knew, but I couldn’t say it aloud. I needed him to say it.

“It’s not moving,” I said.

“The baby is dead,” he replied. No emotion. Not even a hint.

“What? What are you talking about?” I demanded. There was my voice. The room chilled. My children became very quiet.

“I’m sorry. It probably died in the first several weeks,” he explained.

I was on auto-pilot. The rest was simply Charlie Brown listening to his teacher. He left the room. I got dressed. The children followed me to the car. “Hold it together,” I yelled at myself. “Don’t cry in front of the children,” I shouted in my head.

In the car, I reached for my cell phone.

“There’s something wrong. We lost it. It’s gone,” I sounded like a robot.

“What? What do you mean?” My husband just landed in Calgary.

“We lost it. The baby is gone,” I almost whispered it. The children didn’t understand the doctor. They knew something was wrong, but they didn’t know what. I couldn’t tell them this way.

“I’ll be right home,” my husband answered.

The tears flowed. I couldn’t stop them.

Nothing prepares you for losing a child. Society doesn’t grieve the loss of a child who wasn’t born yet the same way as one that was. There aren’t funerals or memorials. Maybe, we’re not supposed to. I felt wrong grieving. Losing our baby tore something from me. It was like a bit of my spirit died in that office. We received his ashes in a tiny box. I keep them in a safe place — one I only know.

Our children talk about Baby E #3. We don’t “shush” them. We can’t explain why Baby E died. That’s one of the hardest things for them to understand. They felt the sadness and even now, four years later, long for another sibling.

For so long all I felt was pain and anger. I lost myself and hid behind a bottle of wine. About a year ago, my heart finally felt joy at the thought of Baby E. This year, I stopped hiding behind a bottle. Today, I can celebrate, with or without the wine — though I still like reds — the experience that was Baby E. I can recall the happiness I felt when that little stick announced his presence.

I welcomed myself back with renewed purpose and am squarely focused on those things that enrich my life: my husband, our children, my budding writing career, martial arts training, our businesses, and the various projects that make me smile.

This is my life. I only get one. No regrets. Eyes wide open. Laughing loudly. When it’s over, I’ll be worn out and completely satisfied.

 

 

 

 

 

About korimiller

Author. Facilitator. Coach.

31 comments on “Joy, Pain and Not Bringing Home Baby

  1. Wow. Thanks for sharing your story.

  2. I understand…thanks for sharing.

  3. Thanks for sharing this Kori…I can’t imagine what that must be like. You’re right that society may view the loss differently, but the pain is no less real.

    • Thank you for reading it. I still wonder why our society (US, because I don’t know how other societies handle this) is this way. There’s also an expectation that any grieving should be completed in a year. My third interview on my radio show was with a doctor who specializes in grieving. It was great timing because I’d just finished writing this draft. He helped me without even realizing it!

      • Anyone who tries to put a timeline on grieving does not understand it at all! Its so different for everyone. It took me years to get over the loss of my mother, and its been almost twelve now and sometimes the pain still feels fresh and real.

        And you can’t beat unintentional therapy 🙂

  4. So moving! Thanks for sharing.

  5. profoundly moving and beautifully written

  6. Wow…tears! I too lost a child to a miscarriage. And you’re right society doesn’t grief the loss the same way. I had named my daughter Lily and we actually had a “service” for her passing. It was such a moving time for me. I’m glad you can have joy in the memories now…me too 🙂

    • Maybe if we’d held a service the healing process would have happened faster. I don’t know. We left for Calgary right after and lived there for several months. I’m glad you find joy in the memories, too. Thanks for commenting.

  7. Thank you so much for having the courage to share your story. There are many losses for which society doesn’t grieve and this is perhaps one of the cruelest. I am glad that you have found your happiness now. 🙂

    • Thank you for commenting. The first draft was written shortly after Baby E died and was too raw to share. I’m happy that I got to the other side of this mountain. I want other women to know that they’re not alone in this experience that feels so isolating.

      • I have not experienced a miscarriage myself but my second son was born severely disabled and we had very similar feelings of loss, pain, grief and loneliness. Although we still have him with us and he is our beautiful little boy, we have had to adjust our lives in ways that we didn’t expect to and in that, I can wholeheartedly relate to your experience. Parenthood is tough and these are the things they don’t teach you on your ante-natal courses.

  8. I know the feeling, May you be strong for your children and more for yourself ! Keep Smiling 🙂

  9. So powerful. So moving. So intimate. The uplifting path forward: So brave

  10. Thanks for sharing your beautiful story!

  11. Miscarriage affects many but is not given the understanding and compassion it needs.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

