15 Comments

Howard and Elizabeth

 

Margarita glass.

Howard and Elizabeth

 

 by Kori Miller

 

“Oh my gawd! Did you see that?”

 

“What?” I strained to hear my friend Katy over the boom of the speakers. We stood between the living and dining rooms. We’d been invited to a circle supper with various members of our church.

 

“That!” She pointed at the dining table.

 

My eyes scanned the area.

 

“Right there! Do you see it?” She asked.

 

In the middle of the table, sitting atop a small pile of celery, sat a little brown rodent nibbling a carrot.

 

“What should we do?”  Katy asked.

 

“I don’t know. Maybe nobody else sees it.”

 

“Well, I hope not, but we can’t just let it sit there eating all the food.”

 

“Why? Are you still hungry? I mean, really, do you want to eat that stuff now?”

 

She dismissed my sarcasm saying, “Come on!”

 

“Where are we going?”

 

“We’re going to catch it before anyone notices. Everyone else seems pretty well occupied playing Cranium.”

 

“And, just how do you propose we trap it?”

 

Katy downed her drink. “We’ll use this. It’s perfect!” She handed me a large, plastic margarita glass.

 

“You’ve got to be kidding. Do you know how close we’ll have to get with this glass? And, if you honestly think no one will notice, you’ve apparently already hit your drink limit.”

 

“It’ll work. Trust me.” She moved toward the table slowly, motioning for me to follow.

 

As I got closer, I could see that the little brown rodent was actually a gerbil. It looked so content sitting atop the celery nibbling its carrot. Meanwhile, Katy gave me the “shhhh” symbol, and directed me to maneuver to the opposite side of the table. All the while, blocking the view of the other guests — just in case.

 

As I made my way around to the other side of the table, I thought, “How the heck am I suppose to trap a gerbil on top of a plate of celery?”

 

Katy began a countdown with her fingers, as I readied the glass and myself. Her hand dropped. Her eyes went wide, as I slammed the glass over the gerbil. The table shook and shimmied. She watched as one table leg, then another, and another, and finally the last one, gave way.

 

“Oh crap!” I said.

 

The table slammed to the floor, with me sprawled over it, holding the glass.

 

“What happened?” Pete came rushing into the room, followed by ten of our closest acquaintances. He looked first to me, as if I was in a position to offer a reasonable explanation, then to Katy. She just stood there shrugging her shoulders, mouth gaping.  “Trust her” she said. Yah, right!

 

“Oh, you found Howard!” Pete bent down, swept my hand away from the glass, and scooped up the gerbil. It jumped from the glass, scurried up his arm, and nuzzled against his neck.

 

“I looked everywhere for Howard the past two days. Elizabeth will be so happy to see him!”

 

“Elizabeth?” I slowly picked myself up. Bits of vegetables, chips, and dip decorated my chest.

 

“Oh yes. She’s been depressed for days. You see, Howard escaped from their home two days ago. She hasn’t eaten or slept since he disappeared. I think I even saw her cry.”

 

“Uh, huh.” I grabbed the glass. “I think I’ll be needing a refill.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About korimiller

Author. Facilitator. Coach.

15 comments on “Howard and Elizabeth

  1. Awww. That’s a very cute story. I love gerbils.

  2. I enjoyed this! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  3. Wow! That is so cute! I could so see that happening! kids…

  4. Thanks for your comments. They’re appreciated. It didn’t look like this when I previewed the formatting. Did I do something wrong?

  5. The table imagery was great.

  6. That was very cute – I would so be the one to make the table collapse (but I was also the one who instigated trouble most times – yikes!)

  7. If I had a dollar for every time my sister’s gerbil ended up somewhere it was not supposed to be…this made me smile and brought back some fun memories Good story 🙂

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

