7 Comments

The Fountain

I owe Helen a huge apology for the confusion over how to post and where to post. If you have been given site privileges you may post your stuff at any time you wish, without using the forms found on the website. This was supposed to be part of the Thursday writing prompt. I can’t seem to reach Helen right now, so I am posting her poem that should have made it up here yesterday. Blame me, I deserve it. So just in case anyone wonders, it’s only Thursday still because I said so. Then you can skip Friday and go straight to Saturday, also because I said so.

You can find her and her amazing poetry at http://helenvalentina.wordpress.com

 

The Fountain

The water still streams from the fountain
How can this be now ever so?
How can it still sparkle with beauty
How can its clear crystal still flow?

Where once we would meet in its halo
Dance in its ode to the sun
Speak such sweet nothings together
Marvel at romance begun

Where once we divined in its beauty
The water of life and of love
Walked the park hand in hand in true unity
Saw the balance below and above

Now I sit at the fountain in solitude
Feeling loss with you not by my side
And where once there was beauty and promise
Now there’s only the memory denied

So the fountain should be still and silent
The sun should be shadowed by cloud
The park be a sentinel to loneliness
No longer the joy of the crowd

For how can the fountain still sparkle
And flow like the heart still may beat?
My love you have gone from my life now
The loss of the vital and sweet

And with this true cruelty of departure
The fountain should surely run dry
It should have ceased in its murmur
The moment that you said goodbye

(c) Helen Valentina 2013, All Rights Reserved

About Ionia Froment

book blogger and reviewer, mother of four boys, classical pianist and amateur photographer. I love reading, writing, music and learning to cook new and unusual dishes. You can usually find me with my nose buried in a book unless I have the opportunity to be walking on the beach collecting seashells:)

7 comments on “The Fountain

  1. ooo, how about tomorrow is Friday and we just skip Saturday? Then I would have three days off! I could live with that. 🙂

    Helen great poem as always. (Although the ending made me kind of sniffle a bit). 🙂

  2. I liked the Martin direction here and the poem is worth an extra Thursday.

  3. Thank you Helen, this was beautiful. I like that you did not say that the lover left or died…goodbye can come for different reasons. Either way, I still need a tissue.

  4. Lovely, Helen! Thank you for sharing!

  5. Thanks to everyone for their kind comments, and don’t worry Ionia – it was me confusing how to post, not your fault. But I bow to your power to make extra Thursdays and some time may ask you to make extra Saturdays and Sundays too!! 😉

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

