58 Comments

Watch, you say?

Again with the swearing. I think I have Tourette’s.

He glanced at his watch impatiently. The inanimate object had suddenly become the focus of his hatred. The way the face shone in the early afternoon sunlight, mocking him, daring him. The way the gold reminded him of that little band that used to be around his finger. The band that never really left because now there was a permanent tan line encircling the newly naked appendage.

The watchband felt tight on his wrist. Uncomfortable and tugging at the small hairs, that bloody watch was.

People walked past him without a second glance. He eyed the watch. His anger began to boil over.

Tearing the watch from his wrist he stared at it for a few more seconds before slamming it to the ground. “Piece of shit! I hate you! I hate everything about you! I hate ten years of marriage. I hate the postman, the pool boy, the boss you screwed, my fucking best friend!” he shouted as he repeatedly stomped on the watch, not caring that pieces of the thing were flying every which direction. He also didn’t care that people were staring.

He continued his mad rant until the watch lie broken into a million pieces before him and his energy was spent.

As people went back to their business, his mobile began to ring. He mopped the beads of sweat from his brow and pulled out his phone.

“Jack Bensen,” he answered.

“Jack, hey. It can be settled today. Dinah is willing to give you everything. The house, the cars, the bank account. She only has one demand.”

“What’s that?” Jack asked, incredulous.

“She requests that you return her grandfather’s gold watch to her, for sentimental reasons.”

Jack looked up to see another patron in the train yard advancing toward him. “Excuse me, sir. Would you happen to have the time?”

Jack looked down at the bits and pieces of his watch impatiently.

About Ionia Froment

book blogger and reviewer, mother of four boys, classical pianist and amateur photographer. I love reading, writing, music and learning to cook new and unusual dishes. You can usually find me with my nose buried in a book unless I have the opportunity to be walking on the beach collecting seashells:)

58 comments on “Watch, you say?

  1. Ouch. Bet a lot more cursing came after that. Love the twist at the end.

  2. I like this. Taking out our frustrations on others, and indeed inanimate objects is not always the best thing.

  3. Ahem…Excuse me. Looks like I walked into something here. Let me say I liked the twist on the story which gave it a classic flair. Okay you can go back to what you were doing. I’ll let myself out. Bye.

  4. Oh hahahaha, and I thought mine was good. You smoked me! So much fun! I love this prompt thing.

  5. I missed the Do Not Disturb sign too – I feel like such a voyeur 😉

    But the story was great – I almost thought someone else must have written it, because whoever wrote this followed the rules and I know that Ionia doesn’t follow the rules (very often!)

  6. Really liked the writing and the ad lib chat!

  7. Nicely done! Some people have all the luck, don’t they?

  8. Genius! You are a clever lass. You made my husband giggle. I had to read this one out loud.

    • Lol thank you:) I’m looking forward to a weekend of blog reading. Finally got my Internet working right although wp is still freaking out. How are the edits going?

      • I told Charles today. I think I am done 🙂 My girlfriend read it again yesterday and she hasn’t re4ad it in over a year. She caught a couple of tiny things that me nor the copyeditor had caught. I can’t trust my husband. He knows too much about my personal life to read this objectively. I reread it last night and am satisfied with it.

  9. Haha! Great short story! Comments were funny too. Viva la love! 🙂

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

