10 Comments

Short Story Question

Sorry for this but I’ve a quick question for my author friends here on CSB :

I’m thinking of putting together a book/collection of my short stories. Is there an average/minimum amount of stories before it can be a collection/book?

About Dean

My name is Dean Kealy and I live in Ireland. I am freelance writer/content creator.

10 comments on “Short Story Question

  1. The average/minimum is whatever you stop at. How many do you have?

  2. If you are going to publish on amazon I believe it has to be 28 pages or more, at least that used to be the guideline, but I have seen everything from just a couple of longer stories to a huge book full of many smaller stories. When you feel you are comfortable and it is what you want to see for your book, then go for it. Also, i really, really, really–in case Charles neglected to tell you–want to apologise for not visiting your blog more this week. I have been going mad at work and just can’t seem to get it together. Tomorrow–blog day.

  3. I like short story collections that let me sample an author’s work and provide a novella as a centerpiece.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

