29 Comments

T-Dot

I’m three and a half rye and cokes into my night, doubles at that and I don’t drink often anymore. I didn’t kick the bottle but I have tapered my drinking down to almost non-existence. The bottle of rye I’m drinking from I received as a birthday gift in May and only opened it last week and that was just to marinade some beef for the Barbie. Tonight I decided it was a good night for a drink, not a drunk but a drink, enough to get lit but not enough to get tanked. As always in the later years when I drink I reminisce and get nostalgic. Upon the blank screen of my mind I evoke images of the heyday of my youth and Hog-town, Big-smoke, T.O., York, East York, North York, Etobicoke. Zombies walk streets of newspaper tumbleweeds, subterranean creatures that rarely see daylight and eyes that squint in the harsh sun.

Toronto, the city hated by the rest of the country.

You can always tell when someone is from Toronto or not just by how they say Toronto. We the natives do not say Tor-on-to like everyone else. A true Torontonian will say Torrana when referring to their city. That’s where I’m from Torrana, born and bred. Those are my streets. I own that town. Toranna, emotional desert of wasted youth where Yonge Street is very old, long and drawn out. Torrana, like an octopus wrapping it’s tentacles around your heart and squeezing the life out of you…

( https://neverendingstorydepository.wordpress.com/2013/08/04/day-9-city/ )

About tjtherien

poet in limbo...writer at large

29 comments on “T-Dot

  1. About to call it a night, but I have to ask. Why does the rest if the country hate Toronto?

  2. they see people from Toronto as seeing it’s self as better than the Country and an imitation of New York City… but trust me we are York… not New York

    • Thought I responded to this comment last night… lol… guess I did but never posted my comment. I had to laugh at the suggestion of writing Crime or Murder Mystery because I neither read or watch anything in this genre in general…I don’t watch slasher movies either, or anything Horror…
      I’ve always considered myself a Romance Writer… if you ever read my secondary blog it is dedicated to a Romance… that’s not a Romance…but it is a romance..

  3. Ah ha! You waited until you thought everyone was in bed to reveal the true nature of your history.

    • living elsewhere in Canada now when people ask me where I’m from I’ll say Etobicoke… really I was born in East York, grew up in North York and spent my twenties and on the Lakeshore in Etobicoke… these are all parts of Toronto but most people don’t realize that. I learned my lesseon just how much people hate Toronto…which I still can’t pronounce the way it’s spelled unless I really concentrate…

      • I hope you know that I skipped over the name of that place because I haven’t the energy to try and pronounce it. Also, Have you ever thought about writing murder mystery? I asked because I have noticed something about your writing. Seriously. Your voice is dark and mysterious. You sound as if you have just holstered a weapon or put the cuffs on a criminal. It is something about the way that I read it. It is slow, with pauses between phrases. I am trying to think of the name of the TV character or book character that it reminds me of, but it escapes me at the moment. I will think of it later and let you know.

      • You aren’t seeing double…yet. I accidently posted that comment twice. You can edit if you like.

      • I think I have it figured out. It’s a sexy voice, and one that makes you stop and think. My husband and I listen to a lot of Old Time radio on our trips to the boat, three hours away. It is Sgt. Friday from Dragnet, Jack Webb (John Randolph Webb), also known by pen names Preston Wood and John Randolph. There are other personalities on Old Time Radio shows that are similar, be he is the standard.

    • I hope you know that I skipped over the name of that place because I haven’t the energy to try and pronounce it. Also, Have you ever thought about writing murder mystery? I asked because I have noticed something about your writing. Seriously. Your voice is dark and mysterious. You sound as if you have just holstered a weapon or put the cuffs on a criminal. It is something about the way that I read it. It is slow, with pauses between phrases. I am trying to think of the name of the TV character or book character that it reminds me of, but it escapes me at the moment. I will think of it later and let you know.

    • Thought I responded to this comment last night… lol… guess I did but never posted my comment. I had to laugh at the suggestion of writing Crime or Murder Mystery because I neither read or watch anything in this genre in general…I don’t watch slasher movies either, or anything Horror…
      I’ve always considered myself a Romance Writer… if you ever read my secondary blog it is dedicated to a Romance… that’s not a Romance…but it is a romance..

    • Thank you very much SK I am very honored… I used to listen to dragnet and other shows of that era on the radio on Sunday nights when I was 14-17 years old… there was a two hour show of old radio shows on a radio station in Toronto may they rubbed off on me a little I almost forgot about all those old radio shows… my favorite was the outer limits radio show…

      • I am glad you are flattered. I meant it that way. I know he gets done in satire a lot, like Jerry Seinfeld’s Library Detective, but I admire the old radio shows like a lost art. I recall watching some shows, like Dragnet, as a teenager, but when I listen to them now as an adult they take on a whole new character. There is a Humphrey Bogart…Sam Spade…quality to it, your writing voice.

  4. Reblogged this on Amanda's Words / starfire8me and commented:
    No need to get shit-faced, anyway!!

  5. Nice blog. My memory of Toronto (as a visitor from New Zealand) was not knowing what stop to get off on the train. The lady I asked help from took me all the way past her stop to show me personally. (And, no, I wasn’t young, beautiful and handsome). I thought it was the kindest of cities in lots of ways.

    • sorry about that typo

    • every city has it’s good and bad I’m sure if I was in you town in New Zealand and asked for directions people would be helpful… I think people like to help people and are just looking for the opportunity… sometimes a little inconvenience isn’t a big deal if the company is good… I am glad you stumbled upon one of the good ones…

  6. I have to say that I really enjoyed the Jazz Fest two years ago. I just had a little sticker shock on the prices.

    • yes Toronto is an expensive city Marsha…I won’t knock the festivals of Toronto and The Toronto Film Festival is definitely world class but no city does festival in Canada like Montreal… the Montreal Jazz Festival is something you would enjoy even more

  7. I was born in Torrana too. I love your imagery of ‘newspaper tumbleweeds.’ For its size it’s a generally clean city, aside from the occasional page of the Sun floating around.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

