29 Comments

Alexandria, A favorite city.

I have never lived in a city except for a few months I spent in Atlanta as a child, a few months I spent in NYC as a teenager, and Orlando, where I live now.  Orlando is not my favorite.

My favorites come from the ancient, even mythical, world.  Cities like Atlantis, Dwarka, and Babylon.

Growing up, I was a book nerd.  When I was a child I was in foster care and I moved from place to place until ultimately residing in a group children’s home in the North Georgia Mountains.  My best friends were books.  I spent a significant amount of time in libraries after school and at the children’s home.  Reading was my favorite pastime.  I did not stay in one place long enough to be on team sports or join clubs.

14322-cleopatra-queen-of-the-nile-windows-screenshot-library-of-alexandrias

I have never been to Egypt but I would love to see it.  I am a lover of history and ancient history in particular.  I like to study the ancient religions as well.  Alexandria has always been a fascination to me.  I could imagine ancient scholars and theologians gathering there to study and share their philosophies.  The grandest library to have ever existed was located in Alexandria.  Although the original library was burned many times, the library that exists there today is likewise most splendid.  It is one of those cities that has withstood the tests and wars of time.  With all of its glorious history, Alexandria is one of the most cosmopolitan cities in the world.  We think of Egypt with its associations to the Middle East because of its history. That it sits on the continent of Africa is almost forgotten.  It is one of my most favorite places and one I would truly love to visit in this lifetime.  In the meanwhile, WordPress is my Alexandria.

About S.K. Nicholls

is a steel magnolia from GA who currently resides with her rocket scientist husband in Central Florida. Even though she had a reputation as the class clown in grade school, she managed to successfully achieve a career in nursing that spanned thirty-five years. Putting down the stethoscope and picking up the pen, she started writing compelling, thought-provoking historic novels and riveting contemporary crime romps, telling it like it was and telling it like it is. Orphaned from her mother at an early age, she survived foster care, and in her youth resided in an orphanage in the North GA Mountains, the Ethel Harpst Home. Four adults call her mom and four little people call her grandmother. She enjoys reading, comedy shows, salt-water fishing, boating, and brewing Kombucha. Her family owns and operates one of the oldest and largest nudist resorts in the nation located in Florida, Cypress Cove.

29 comments on “Alexandria, A favorite city.

  1. The tragedy of the loss of that library has always broken my heart. Good choice for a history aficionado.

  2. I remember Orlando being odd and quaint, but I always chalked it up to me being used to NYC. Love the choice of Alexandria. Atlantis would be cool too.

  3. Totally agree – what a wonderful destination! 🙂 🙂

  4. Well no wonder you run around naked except for body paint and a boa! One can only imagine you in Alexandria! A very nice flight of fancy…
    Ellespeth

    • Hahaha. I don’t think I would have lived very long in ancient Egypt. They would have put me to death early on. I would wear a burka today and hope no one saw that post.

  5. Alexandria and Dwarka mentioned in one post. Amazing. I love your choice of favourite city 🙂

  6. Egypt is on my bucket list of places to go. Thanks for posting about it 🙂

  7. So, I know the video game that pic came from, super fun. 🙂

    Man, you made me wish I had picked Atlantis! Love your choice, so cool.

  8. Excellent choice Susan. I also have a fascination with Alexandria because it was the home of one of the seven wonders of the ancient world, the lighthouse of Alexandria. It was the tallest structure in the world when it was built and must’ve been quite an architectural achievement for the time. I can only imagine the grandeur it held for those passing ships seeing it from the distance for the first time. Too bad it’s no longer standing. I believe there is speculation about whether those ruins on the ocean floor are from the lighthouse as well.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

