24 Comments

Brookings (For de prompt, boss.)

From the first moment I saw you, I fell in love. A tiny oasis by the bay, with thatched rooftops and ornamental windows in homes that overlook the glittering sea. The hiking trails lined with the foliage of wild blackberries beg me to make discoveries. Along rugged coastline with rocky outcroppings and tide pools full of the smallest wonders nature can create, there you are–beauty embodied.

Espresso at the port as you release your ships into the sea with pride, guiding them safely across the bar. Summer festivals and laughing children, warm days in the sand. Perfect little book shops and dinner overlooking the moonlit sea. Brookings, could there be anywhere else that calls so strongly to me?

(Brookings, Oregon is the favourite place for my children and I to vacation each year. If you haven’t been, you should. Here is a link to the webcam for the chamber of commerce.)

http://www.port-brookings-harbor.com/webcams/port-of-brookings-harbor

About ionia martin

book blogger and reviewer, mother of four boys, classical pianist and amateur photographer. I love reading, writing, music and learning to cook new and unusual dishes. You can usually find me with my nose buried in a book unless I have the opportunity to be walking on the beach collecting seashells:)

24 comments on “Brookings (For de prompt, boss.)

  1. Sounds beautiful. I’ve heard nothing but good things about Oregon in general. Definitely need to visit some day.

  2. Brookings has been one of the places that I keep trying to figure out how to move to:>) I love it and your story makes me get that tingle again…no…in the middle of creating a garden…but…no, not yet…maybe…NO, sit tight girly!
    Okay, I better now:>)

  3. I’m better now, wish you could edit these things or that my finger was slower to hit enter:>)

  4. Ooo, sounds lovely! I need to take another vacation soon, this looks like a great place.

  5. Would the train – from San Francisco – happen to pass by there?
    Ellespeth

  6. You make it sound so lovely and inviting. I’ll definitely check it out. 🙂 Thank you.

  7. It sounds like a peaceful, bright and sunny place to make memories. I bet the sunsets are even pretty on the live streaming webcam. I have never seen the Pacific coast from North America. I have only seen it from Costa Rica and that, I am told, is nothing at all like the coast of N. CA, OR, or WA.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

