16 Comments

My Favourite City Prompt – The Glory of Sydney

English: Sydney Harbour Bridge from Circular Q...

English: Sydney Harbour Bridge from Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. Français : Le Harbour Bridge, à Sydney. Photo prise depuis Circular Quay, à Sydney, en Nouvelle Galles du Sud (Australie). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

At night the view of the bridge sparkles
Coloured lights challenge the stars for glory
Luminescence floats upon the harbour
As ferries carve a solemn path to home

By day the sunlight paints the water deepest blue
This colour hints at the ocean
Slightly out of view
A water city unlike others
Curved bays and harbour walks
From the Gardens to beyond
Tranquility in a city otherwise
Made of adrenalin

Further in the city streets bustle
Raw energy and acquisition
Parade in perfect sartorial splendour
Everyone is in black
And everyone is thin
As though they live on coffee and fear
But love it anyway

She’s a brash city in many ways
She’s more New York
While Melbourne is perhaps more Washington
But each are their own in any case
And Sydney shines
A copper, edgy light
Across its deep carved bays

I never tire of the view
City strung out as lights at night
Or undulating like a beast by day
Its secrets are etched in the pavement
Or displayed on promotional screens
It is a place of love and loss
Of hopes, and darkness and dreams

(C) Helen Valentina 2013, All Rights Reserved

About helenvalentina

Like most people, I have a number of sides to me. The most interesting one probably emerges through my writing, hence this blog. I love to read, and also to write, and so this is a way to share both.

16 comments on “My Favourite City Prompt – The Glory of Sydney

  1. Lovely! I love the NY and WA contrasts!

  2. I don’t think I would tire of that view either.

  3. All these wonderful places have me ready to scream out, “Road TRIP!!!” Oh, wait, the writing, the garden building…well, maybe later.

  4. How beautiful! I can see it in my mind’s eye and hear it.
    Ellespeth

  5. I’m with Patti, I want to visit here too! 🙂

  6. On my bucket list for certain. How delightful you write 🙂

  7. Beautifully written. I’ve always wanted to visit Australia and now I can say I’ve been there in my mind, at least.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

