22 Comments

The World At Our Feet (Day 9 prompt)

It’s not time to have the story yet. It’s all still in a gestational phase. When it finally puts together all its pieces parts, I’ll have a story about my hometown – New Orleans – and the French Quarter where I lived for so many decades.

Let’s have a party on our balcony.
Let’s invite the world.
Let’s show people
how to make fun
of politics, politicians,
and all those things
mother told us not to ever do.
Let’s laugh again
when we thought
we’d never stop crying.
Let’s do it wearing a tutu
or less.

Ellespeth

About Ellespeth

I'm a poet. Sometimes I write stories and other nonsense. Ellespeth

22 comments on “The World At Our Feet (Day 9 prompt)

  1. Reblogged this on BalconyViewz and commented:

    Today’s prompt at https://neverendingstorydepository.wordpress.com/
    sort of. Take a visit there and spend some time reading.
    Ellespeth

  2. I love the sounds of that city at night!

  3. I totally agree with the tone of that poem. New Orleans sounds like a fun town from everything I’ve heard.

  4. New Orleans and Key West were my favorite places, when my 2 children & I traveled the U.S. in 2001. I wanted to live in either place, until I met Hawaii:>)

  5. Great poem Ellespeth! I love the fun attitude of it, made me want to visit! 🙂

  6. I like the way you think. Have all the fun while you can. New Orleans was the first place (not the last) that I saw a (almost) naked lady in public. She had tambourines on her hips and was shaking them at my dad and she was topless and covered with beads. I was eleven. It was an eye opener. i went down to Fantasy Fest in key West and was naked with my body painted and parading in the streets. it was probably more fun than wearing a tutu, but the politicians and police joined us in the party.

    • Did you say YOU went naked with your body painted? Is THAT what you meant to say? And to think I thought I was being brave to go to Mardi Gras straight from bed with just my jammies on 😛
      Elllespeth

      • You have an innocence about you dear Ellespeth that I cannot begin to possess. I was going to post pictures on Independence Day of me in red white and blue feathered headdress with not much more than a feather boa on being handcuffed by a Key West cop. My husband talked me out of it. I have no discipline sometimes. My family owns a nudist resort for Christ’s sake…heck…you can’t help what you inherit.

      • Oh My Goodness! LOL! Could u possibly post that picture here – on the Storyboard – with perhaps a poem or story … or (to stick with posting rules} some other ‘original random’ caption?
        Ellespeth 😛

  7. I love New Orleans! The French Quarter is so beautiful. I was there so long ago now – I’d love to go back!

  8. Every year, I tell myself I’m doing a road trip to New Orleans. Out of all the cities in the US, it’s the one I’ve always wanted to visit. Luckily, my son is older and I think he’d appreciate it as well – the excuses not to take that road trip are weakening!

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

