16 Comments

That Pen and All (Today’s Box Prompt)

That Pen and All

She touched the little box in her pocket and smiled. She was so excited that every now and then her heart would get stuck in her throat.

The morning had been busy. She’d cashed her paycheck and rushed into the jewelry store. There, she was finally able to take her Mont Blanc Pen out of law-a-way. It had taken a year, but she’d finally saved enough money for the “I Must Have That Pen” pen. Then, she’d stopped off at the pharmacy and run home. She’d sensed a grand day ahead.

Once home, she went into the bathroom. She brushed her teeth and washed her hands and all. Then, she sat at the kitchen table a few minutes. She thumbed her fingers on the table. She broke down crying. She burst out laughing. Then she took the pen out of its lovely fancy box. She took a bunch of used wishes she’d been saving and keeping in a baggie. She put those into the pen box. Then she wrapped some tissue paper around the present she had, for her husband, and placed that in the pen box, too, and headed out the door.

They’d made plans to meet for lunch. When she arrived, he appeared to be patient but he was glancing at his watch impatiently. She sat across from him and held out the box.

“Your pen!” he exclaimed.

“Yes! My pen. My wonderful pen. Go on, sweetie, take a look. You won’t believe it!”

Tears were running down her cheeks as she watched him open the pen box and unfold the tissue. Tears began to run down his cheeks. She had given him the results of her home pregnancy test.

“Yes,” said the stick after all these years.

Ellespeth

About Ellespeth

I'm a poet. Sometimes I write stories and other nonsense. Ellespeth

16 comments on “That Pen and All (Today’s Box Prompt)

  1. oh wow, love it! I feel so excited for them! 😀

  2. Reblogged this on BalconyViewz and commented:

    A prompt about a box has faced me all day. Her is my attempt. It really did bring out some lovely prose from so many talented writers. Drop by https://neverendingstorydepository.wordpress.com/ … you won’t be sorry. Ellespeth

  3. Very emotional. Didn’t get what was going on until the end, which was a nice surprise.

    • I actually have a baggie – from my 50’s – with used wishes. Second marriage…different mind sets. Thank you, Charles.
      I forgot to mention – in my comment – how utterly adorable your lil one is. That picture may have inspired this post.
      Ellespeth

  4. Aw – I love this one. I was so happy for them! 🙂

    • Thank you, Katie. I was like – OMG – an effin box? I rarely work from a prompt so these are quite a challenge. Isn’t Dean hosting this torture?
      Ellespeth

      • He is. And it is torture.

        The other sentence prompt stumped me entirely. I kept getting strains of some surreal prose piece that I could never corral into something worthwhile. This one nearly took me in a wild tangent and I kept having to bring it back … makes our creative brains work, that’s for sure!

  5. This was great Ellespeth, and it came across so sweetly. Not like a struggle at all.

  6. What a happy way to start my day! Very good turn at the prompt, Ellespeth 🙂

  7. Aww, that was lovely. Such a happy ending 🙂

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

