12 Comments

Powerless

41k_CloudLightening“Power! I need more pow—oh crap.”

“Master! Master, where are you!”

“Igs? Igs, I’m over here – wait, no, stay there. I’ll come to you. And stop calling me Master. ”

Dr. Viviane Frank stumbled past the operating table and stubbed her toe on something on the floor. She and Igs were going to have to have a chat about working conditions and the need for a sterile laboratory.

Of course, when the laboratory was in a dilapidated, turn-of-the century monstrosity, she supposed sterile was probably out of the question. Seeing as her funding dollars only went so far. . .

“Igs, did you hook up the back-up generators like I asked you to?”

There was no response from the queer little man that came with the antiquated equipment.

“Igs?”

“Yes, Mas—I mean, Dr. Frank. I hooked it up just before the experiment began.”

“Hm. Must be a full-blown power outage. Where do you keep the flashlights, Igs?”

“Flashlights, Ma—Dr. Frank?”

frankenstein“Yes, flashlights. You know – electric torches? There has to be an emergency kit around here somewhere.” Viviane gingerly made her way to the large shelving unit and ran her hands along the shelves. Glass bottles clattered and her hands brushed by something sticky.

“Gross. What is this? Is it just us, Igs, or is the town out, too?”

“Yes, Master.”

Viviane sighed. This was ridiculous. Where had the University found this guy? She turned in the general direction of his voice. Her eyes were adjusting to the gloom and she could just see his silhouette against the window.

“So, no flashlights, then?”

Igs didn’t answer her directly. He just motioned to the window and pointed down. Viviane shook her head and looked. Perhaps she hadn’t adjusted to the gloom after all. There was a moving line of light coming up the long path from the town to their hill-top refuge.

“It’s the townspeople, Dr. Frank. They’re bringing us some torches!”

“Oh crap. Not again.”

For the Creative Writing Challenge, Day 11 prompt: Power.

About KM Sullivan

Descended of pirates and revolutionaries, KM Sullivan is a lover and student of all things Irish. Born in the States, she is a dual US/Irish citizen, and studied history and politics at University College, Dublin – although, at the time, she seriously considered switching to law, if only so she could attend lectures at the castle on campus. She lives in the American Midwest with her son, two cats and a pesky character in her head named D (but you can call him Dubh). Her first book, Changelings: Into the Mist, a young adult historical fantasy is available now on Amazon and Barns and Noble. She can be found writing with said character at her blog, The D/A Dialogues.

12 comments on “Powerless

  1. Reblogged this on The D/A Dialogues and commented:

    D: My apologies to Mary Shelly.
    A: I think that’s my line.
    D: No, you were too busy giggling about the Theme from Young Frankenstein piping through the house as you posted this ridiculous piece.
    A: It was kismet, D. I forgot I put it on this playlist (it’s a Halloween song, after all!) It was obviously Meant To Be!
    D: I’ll tell you what’s meant to be. . .
    A: Yes, D? I’m waiting.
    D: . . . okay, I have nothing. I was trying for linking your destiny to writing my book, but I can see by the glazed look in your eye, it’s just not going to happen.
    A: Wise Druid.
    D: She’s complimenting me, people – run. Run far.
    A: Cheers, D.

  2. Haha! This is precious! Love it. 😀

  3. I love the way everyone comes up with such different stories from the prompt.

  4. Oh Katie I just loved this! Frankenstein is one of my favorite books and love Young Frankenstein! Very well done!

    • Thank you (don’t ask why I’m just getting to this now – wordpress + crazy work week = slow, disjointed Katie). Young Frankenstein is one of our favorite movies too. I wish I could have worked in the blind monk, but there was only so much time!

  5. This made me laugh, darling. Mel Brooks would approve. I loved the ending — as if Igs is completely unaware of what the torches (and I’d imagine pitchforks) mean.

    • Thank you! This one was the most fun to write. Poor innocent dumb Igs. Not nearly as wickedly funny as Marty Feldman, but he served his purpose. I hope the townspeople are kind(ish) to him!

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

