20 Comments

Wacky World of Words

I realized that while I love the idea of the Day 12 prompt, what I really love are words – the words themselves, and the way they sound. Instead of making new definitions (does making up my own pronunciations count?), I will explain what I love about these words:

Predilection – to have a preference for something or a penchant (also a favorite word). I just love the way it sounds – the sharp rhythm of the consonants.

Pfeffernüsse – They’re German cookies flavored with anise. While I dislike the cookie itself, I love the word. It is a ‘p’ word that doesn’t sound like one. I like ‘p’ words. Yes, I did just say that.

Penguin – Say it. It is a funny word. It is a funny bird that doesn’t fly, and it is a funny sounding word when you think about saying it. Okay, maybe it’s just me. Also, a p word. I wasn’t kidding.

Fastidious – it is a fluffy word for someone who is fussy and hard to please. I love it.

Flibbertigibbet – Me (sometimes, according to the Pict in my head and the child who rules the house).

Ornery – a good old-fashioned grouch. Of course, I’m not sure you can say the word ‘ornery’ and stay irritable. Actually, I like a couple of words for grouch, such as cantankerous and curmudgeon. I blame the Pict in my head.

Rotund – it’s a rounded shape, or a rich, full sound. I never complain that I’m feeling fat … I will however announce that I’m feeling a bit rotund and should probably step away from the snickers salad that was at work today! It’s a nicer, softer word.

Gobsmack – Actually, I always think of god giving someone a smack-down with this one. I know it means to be astounded, and it’s really just slang, but I love the sound of it.

About KM Sullivan

Descended of pirates and revolutionaries, KM Sullivan is a lover and student of all things Irish. Born in the States, she is a dual US/Irish citizen, and studied history and politics at University College, Dublin – although, at the time, she seriously considered switching to law, if only so she could attend lectures at the castle on campus. She lives in the American Midwest with her son, two cats and a pesky character in her head named D (but you can call him Dubh). Her first book, Changelings: Into the Mist, a young adult historical fantasy is available now on Amazon and Barns and Noble. She can be found writing with said character at her blog, The D/A Dialogues.

20 comments on “Wacky World of Words

  1. I like words that sound like the what they are describing…like crackle and crisp. I am sure there is a word for them, but it escapes me at the moment.

  2. Gobsmack. Not as entertaining as the band Godsmack.

  3. These were great Katie. I love words too. My aunt and I have made a few new words and love to challenge each other with words…try to stump each other.

  4. Some lovely words to get your mouth around, well done.

  5. There’s something rythmic, almost musical, around the sound of a good word 🙂

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

