45 Comments

I thought I saw (prompt)

emelie Ionia

I thought I saw you yesterday,

her hair the same golden

her eyes the same blue

she had your smile

your expression

I could have sworn that it was true.

Sometimes I forget we were carbon copies

I see her in the mirror and I see you

 

I thought I saw you again this morning

While your little ones were at play

As they grow and change

they look more like us every day

 

I know I will see you tonight

running through my dreams

they way we were as children

so perfect, now it seems

 

I thought I saw you and I do

in every beautiful moment,

in every memory too

 

I pray I always see you

let memory not forsake

I pray you see us too

as a life for them I make

 

 

 

 

I miss you Emelie.

 

 

About Ionia Froment

book blogger and reviewer, mother of four boys, classical pianist and amateur photographer. I love reading, writing, music and learning to cook new and unusual dishes. You can usually find me with my nose buried in a book unless I have the opportunity to be walking on the beach collecting seashells:)

45 comments on “I thought I saw (prompt)

  1. This poem is so beautiful and made me cry. Hugs.

  2. What a beautiful tribute. Children. Us. Her. Remembered.

  3. Oh I know this feeling all too well, you wrote such a beautiful piece. I’m sorry that it’s so hard, big hugs! I’m also sorry this comment is so lame. 😦

  4. This is so beautiful and so sad, Ionia. Hugs and love.

  5. I really like your poem. It has this subtle intensity that sinks into me as I peruse over the poem. It truly is beautiful. Please read mine and give feedback.
    http://yukilifetolive.wordpress.com/2013/06/19/truth-be-told/

  6. Whew. My heart is with you Ionia.. We should all think of Emelie on the 20th. I know I will.

  7. Oh, Ionia…can hardly write. I want my sis who lost her twin to read this. I lost Paul on the 9th and he has the same birthday as you…just a sad time…hugs and lots of love your way.

  8. Such a beautiful tribute to sisters.
    Ellespeth

  9. There is so much pain in the loss of a sister. Words can never ever be enough to give it justice but I think I you came close. xx

  10. This brought tears to my eyes. I think I understand now how you can write with such emotion and why I’m always moved by your words. Good writing comes from a place of deep emotional pain. You’ve had more tragedy than most and at such a young age, too. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  11. Beautifully sad ! Touching and exquisite!
    Keeping fingers crossed for your tomorrow medical examination.
    Stay safe my dearest friend!
    Carmen

  12. Those were beautiful words. I didn’t know the background until I read the comments. Then I cried.. I’m the mum of twin boys (well 18 now, so men really) I’m so sorry you lost her. I’m sending a hug from a small patch of Yorkshire 🙂

    • I happily accept hugs. I’m sorry for making you cry:( yay for twin boys. Emelie’s little ones are three now. Precocious little chaps too. I am thankful for them every day.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

