15 Comments

A Blue-Eyed Boy

This was written in response to the Day 13 prompt, “I thought I saw you then.” I have not written poetry since high school so it is likely to be just as undeveloped today as it was then. But when I saw this prompt I was immediately reminded of a time, not long ago, when I saw a boy and in my mind was visited by an old high school friend.

For Ben.

photo credit: technorati.com

photo credit: technorati.com

I thought I saw you then.

I did a double-take.

Oh how long has it been

Since I was at your wake?

On a late summer night,

Down a dark winding road,

A ray of blinding light,

Took a life not yet owed.

Heeding no warning sign,

No time to say goodbye,

He crossed over the line,

I often wonder why.

The mere passage of time

Would’ve brought a few grays,

A wrinkle, maybe two

From very youthful days.

A blue-eyed boy vision

Still frozen in my mind,

A soul in ascension,

A loved one left behind.

About melissajanda

Writer.Wife.Mother.Bibliophile.Fitness Buff. Curious, Creative being. Recovering CPA, finally in my right brain as an aspiring author, trying to do justice to the stories in my head.

15 comments on “A Blue-Eyed Boy

  1. Glad you’ve given it a go , lovely piece.

  2. Wonderful tribute. You are officially a poet. I decided.

    • Thank you! {blushing} I might try this again if I can figure out how to insert the break between stanzas. The system kept removing them when I saved the post and I finally gave up.

  3. You people keep putting tears in my eyes. Hugs

  4. Reblogged this on Melissa Janda – the Buzz on Writing and commented:

    My post on the Community Story Board.

  5. This is lovely! You are a very talented poet! 🙂

  6. Wonderful! A thoughtful tribute. Welcome back to the world of poetry L)
    Ellespeth

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

