7 Comments

Day 14 Prompt: Yearbook (or not)

I’m 20 years of age and I’m coming into my 3rd year out of school. When we finished, we weren’t given a yearbook, like most, but a commemorative pen to mark our time in the school. But that’s not to say I don’t remember everyone that was in my class, because I do, even though there are some in the class that I would be more than happy to forget. I guess for this prompt you could say I’m breaking the rules, but hey, if Charles and Ionia can break the rules, I can too! 

While on my way to work about two weeks ago, I was reading a local newspaper, and what do I find, but an article about one of my former classmates. According to the article he ran himself into some trouble with drugs and money. This didn’t surprise me in the slightest, as he wasn’t what you would call a role model student, and if I’m correct, I don’t think he finished school, anyway. The article went on to mention that that former classmate was now working abroad for legal reasons.

It really made me think, you know? You can either end up going down road A or road B, and one of them roads is going to be the road you wish you hadn’t taken. I, personally, couldn’t imagine at the age I am having to be in his situation. I’m actually stressing out whether I’ll pass my exams and get into my 3rd year of college!

My apologies for the lack of ‘creative writing’ involved with this prompt, but there’s already 4 or 5 days I missed and I didn’t want to go another one without doing a prompt! 

About Dean

My name is Dean Kealy and I live in Ireland. I am freelance writer/content creator.

7 comments on “Day 14 Prompt: Yearbook (or not)

  1. Reblogged this on Dean'z Doodlez and commented:

    Here’s my submission for Day 14 of the 30 Day Creative Writing Challenge where I don’t really follow the rules…

  2. I’ve run into those types of articles and stories too. You’re left to wonder what happened to the person and your mind runs wild with ideas. At least mine does.

  3. Always wonder what happens to people you once knew when you read a bad newspaper story about them

  4. Not good – for him! What are people thinking. Oh! That’s right. Some people don’t think. How could we forget you, Dean, when it’s YOU who puts these prompts up?
    Ellespeth

  5. Yes, life IS all about choices. When you see all the people who make it, despite the roadblocks, it becomes harder to make excuses for not making the best with what you have. Wait, that is lecture #132 for my adult kids!
    Good post, Dean:>)

  6. I hope I’m never the subject of a news story like this, lol. I actually skipped this prompt. Just didn’t feel like it & good job breaking the rules, you rebel! 😉

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

