15 Comments

Day 16 Prompt – New Moon (Shingetsu)

I was of two minds: to embed this video with or without the English subtitles? In the end I included them.

 

 

“Invite me in.”

I am standing at the threshold of your window, the light of the moon at my back. Even in shadows, you know me.

“I… can’t,” you whisper.

“Then I will wait here until I perish.”

“You’re mad. You’re insane,”

I know that you speak the truth, but it doesn’t matter. I must have you.

I close my eyes and speak to you through the moonlight, my voice a balm for your weary mortal life.  I feel you drawn to me. Your hesitancy is nectar, the scent of your blood causes my head to swim. You are so close now.

“Come in,” you breathe in my ear.

Has it been minutes, or hours? I know only your pulse. Here with you curled upon my lap, your inebriating taste upon my tongue, I am closer to death, to heaven, than I have ever been. A single drop away from possessing you for eternity, my euphoria is ripped from my grasp. Your tear burns like a flaming torch upon my skin.

“Why do you cry?” I beg. “You love me, do you not?”

And then, you are gone. Once again, your precious life eludes me.

About LindaGHill

There's a writer in here, clawing her way out.

15 comments on “Day 16 Prompt – New Moon (Shingetsu)

  1. Reblogged this on Get on my plate! and commented:
    Day 16 Prompt – Go to iTunes, put your music on random. Write a story about the first song that comes up.

  2. Wow! So good. I was kind of scared, it felt so creepy & intense.

    Glad you added the English subtitles! 🙂

  3. I loved the tune, your tale was spine tingling, fab 🙂

  4. Scary stuff! You’re great with these prompts!
    Ellespeth

  5. You created a whole intense world in just a few paragraphs, just a few seconds…excellent!

  6. Incubus… wonderful. I like this dark creature. I had written something quite similar some days back. Your ending is just perfect. 🙂

    • I was a bit worried about the ending – I was afraid I’d cut it short because of the word count limit. Funny you should mention an incubus. That is certainly where my inspiration has been lately.

  7. I’m thinking vampire and it’s great that we get her point of view. A sense of sadness and pain from the monster.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

