31 Comments

Pushed to Madness

I’ve finally had it.  The noise and intrusions are too much.  I can’t get any work done with all of this noise and chaos.  Is it so hard to knock before entering a room?  Do people have to yell when they’re not angry?  I’m pretty sure doors close without having to be slammed hard enough to shake the house.  Don’t even get me started on people setting off the toddler.  After all these years, none of them have bothered to pay attention to what pisses him off and avoid doing it.

Today I found my answer.  I built a time machine out of my car and the exercise equipment that was put in my area of the basement.  It took more time to get the dust off the equipment than it did to put this together.  I flip the switch, rev the engine, and away I’ll go to the future with my notebooks and laptop.  The toddler will be grown and the annoyances well either have moved on with their life or be dead.  It’s a perfect plan that will earn me some peace.

Here we go and the wormhole is opening . . . that noise didn’t sound good.  Maybe duct tape and gorilla glue aren’t made for time travel.  I would have bolted stuff down if I knew where people put all the tools.  That’s a lot of smoke from the engine.

And the time machine stopped . . . in the timestream.  That sucks.  Although, I don’t feel hungry or tired like I did when I left.  Maybe being outside of time isn’t such a bad thing.  It’s quiet and my laptop is fully charged.  In fact, it says that it’s plugged in.  I still get Pandora on this thing?  Future Pandora?  Eh, I’ll keep it on 70’s and 80’s rock anyway.

You know, I think I can make this work.

About Charles Yallowitz

Charles E. Yallowitz was born, raised, and educated in New York. Then he spent a few years in Florida, realized his fear of alligators, and moved back to the Empire State. When he isn't working hard on his epic fantasy stories, Charles can be found cooking or going on whatever adventure his son has planned for the day. 'Legends of Windemere' is his first series, but it certainly won't be his last.

31 comments on “Pushed to Madness

  1. This is excellent! I imagine Dr. Who stuck in the Tardis lol! Oooo, could he perhaps encounter the Enterprise?

  2. Reblogged this on Amanda's Words / starfire8me and commented:
    who are you living with,man??

  3. This reminds me of the Big Bang Theory episode when they had a time machine.

    On a more serious note, is there any way you can grab your laptop and your notes and head off to a local library to work?

    • It’s been suggested and the problem is that space is limited there. One trip to the bathroom or out for lunch and I lose my space. Also, libraries aren’t as quiet as they once were. Last time, I had a guy sitting next to me blasting some show through his headphones.

      The issue today is that my son is home from school. I thought I would get some help, so I could get back to my biking and get some writing done. Instead, I find that I couldn’t even make it to breakfast before everyone ran off to either work (understandable) or back to bed. I’m probably going to need to wake up extra early for the rest of the month to get to the biking. Not looking forward to it, so I might be increasingly irritable.

  4. I need one of those! You’ll have to send me a blueprint. 🙂

  5. More adventures please, I vote for the Delorean! Can you take us where no reader has gone before?

  6. LOL. I want a time machine. It seems I need more than 24 hours in a day to accomplish this writer thing. It’d be great to spend the first 24 hours doing all the things I need to do for everyone else and then a repeat that is just for me…to write 🙂

  7. This is a cool story, but I’m sorry that you are going through this. I’m here if you need to vent. *hugs*

  8. Was this to escape from yesterdays fighting, lol. Great story 🙂

  9. Hahaha, that’s one way to get away from it all! Reminds me of Calvin and Hobbes cardboard box time machine, lol.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

