11 Comments

No Rest for the . . .

A town of restless souls
Not held by hate or fear
A land of workers
They toil in blindness
Believing they still breathe
Always inching by
Bills are paid
With wages earned
Though they live in a phantom land
A prison made from life
Locked in an endless rut
Until the day one wakes
Dropping tools of trade
And rising
To a land of peace

About Charles Yallowitz

Charles E. Yallowitz was born, raised, and educated in New York. Then he spent a few years in Florida, realized his fear of alligators, and moved back to the Empire State. When he isn't working hard on his epic fantasy stories, Charles can be found cooking or going on whatever adventure his son has planned for the day. 'Legends of Windemere' is his first series, but it certainly won't be his last.

11 comments on “No Rest for the . . .

  1. Work till ya drop theories…pfffft…don’t do it, Charles! I like this!
    Ellespeth

  2. Wow, this is pretty powerful. I can read this on many levels. The ending is vague enough for some interpretation. Is the rest because of a changed life? Or is it because of death? Oh, what an interesting ending!

  3. I loved this Charles. The piece below describes how I felt working long hours in the financial services industry and then finally making a change.

    A prison made from life
    Locked in an endless rut
    Until the day one wakes
    Dropping tools of trade
    And rising
    To a land of peace

    • I remember those days and will continue fighting to avoid it again. Nearly destroyed me.

      • Those days are over for you, my friend. You were meant to be a writer. I’ve been in a funk lately but I am editing (yuck!) not writing. I got a call about doing a consulting job (implementing a company’s stock option plan). Sounds exciting, huh? Uh, no! Part of me wonders if it’s a sign to give up writing or motivation to press forward since I can’t see going back to that. Just need to get through this dip, I guess. {{sigh}}

      • I’m doing a final edit on my 4th book and it’s going horribly slow. Too many distractions and delays. You might need to take on another project or take a short break to recover your energy. Should never give up.

      • This summer has proved difficult for writing with the kids at home. Plus, I promised my daughter we’d do everything on her Summer Fun Bucket List 🙂 Lots of wonderful memories that I wouldn’t want to miss but not much writing…I think I might take a break from editing as you suggested. The characters in my WIP keep bugging me.

      • It’s been a lot tougher since my son came home. I could usually edit 1 chapter a day and now I’m doing 1 chapter a week. Rather painful.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

