6 Comments

The Aptly Named Ghost Town! (Day 18)

Day 18. Prompt: Ghost Town. Continued from yesterday’s Prompt: Time Travel. 

2013:

“Who are you and how the hell did you get into my room?!?”

Murphy backed away from the crazy looking red headed girl with the gun in her hands. She looked to be in her mid-twenties and was looking a bit worst for ware about his sudden appearance.

“System.” 

Time Jump: Successful. Witnesses: One. Witness Detected. Threat Detected. Fire Arm. 

“Okay lady, slowly put the gun down!” Murphy said calmly. “I can explain!”

“I’m sure you can!” she said in an unconvinced manner, the gun still pointed at him.

Murphy sighed. “This is going to sound crazy, but: My name is Murphy and I am a Time Travelling Adventurer from the year 2085.”

“Huh.” she lowered the gun taking in everything Murphy just said. “That might be the craziest thing I ever heard that I might just believe it. I thought you were another one of them ghosts at first, the way you just popped out of thin air!”

“Another? You’ve got ghosts?” Murphy asked confused.

“Oh yeah.” She said nonchalantly. “We’ve been renamed as the Ghost Town over them.”

“Them? Would ‘them’ just so happen to be 3 little kids, spooky glowing green eyes?”

“Yup. That’s them!”

“I think I can help you. What’s your name, girl?” Murphy asked.

“Beth. Pleased ta meet ya!”

***

Murphy walked out into the middle of the town which had been aptly named ”The Ghost Town”. According to reports they’ve been terrorizing locals for just over a year, appearing at all hours in different locations and scaring the crap out of everyone.

“So how are you going to get rid of them?” Beth asked.

“I can’t get rid of them, they’re ghosts. But I can move them on. I’ve been hunting these guys down since the 1800’s. I’ve been back to the time I’m from and chased them from there too!” Murphy explained. “All I can do now is move them on from this location!”

With that, as if on cue, the three children materialized before them.

“Lock and load!” Murphy grinned as he took out his pistol and loaded it with a bullet unlike that which Beth had ever seen before.

“What’s in the bullet?”

“Gasoline! Ghosts hate fire, so I’m gonna shoot the bullet at where they’re standing and hopefully the fire will be enough to scare them off!”

Murphy took aim and fired his pistol, wasting no time at all. The bullet exploded on impact with the ground and a wall of flames shot up about ten feet into the air.

“Are they gone?” Beth asked. 

Before Murphy could answer a group of people appeared out of their shops and homes and used their fire extinguishers to quench the flames.

“Are you crazy?!?” somebody yelled. “Nutjob!” , “Setting the street on fire!” , “Who does that?!?”

“We better go!” Beth said quietly as she ushered him back to her apartment.

“Would you like a drink?” she asked.

“You got whisky?” 

Beth poured him a glass and he drank it one.

“What are you gonna do now?” she asked.

“There’s only one thing I can do, and I only realized it as I explained that I chased them all the 1800’s. I need to go back. Stop myself from killing them kids.”

“Or… you could go back a little bit further and maybe stop whoever possessed them in the first place. That way you don’t create a Paradox and re-write time altogether like they did in the Age of Ultron.”

Murphy looked at Beth confused, not sure what an Ultron was. “Your pretty smart for a kid.”

Murphy took out his device, entered his coordinates, and with a flash he was gone.

“Jerk.” Beth grumbled as she cleaned his glass. “Didn’t even thank me for the drink!”

End.

About Dean

My name is Dean Kealy and I live in Ireland. I am freelance writer/content creator.

6 comments on “The Aptly Named Ghost Town! (Day 18)

  1. Reblogged this on Dean'z Doodlez and commented:
    My Submission for Day 18 of the 30 Day Creative Writing Challenge. It’s also part three of a series of Short Stories that I didn’t set you with the intention of writing. This will probably be the last one!

  2. Is this really the end? I think it would be cool to see if there’s a way to keep an entire story going through a month of random prompts.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

