9 Comments

Day 21 Prompt; Crush by Patti

More Than A Crush, Less Than Love

My love, need we be strangers, having never met?

The library hosts our love, unrequited, as yet.

Your eyes scan page after page and never see,

The love I feel for you, how can that be?

So entrenched in the books that you love,

you never see me perched on the shelf above.

I look down on you, wonder how much more I can take,

when suddenly the shelves do begin to groan and shake,

An earthquake rattles and there goes my favorite cap,

I’ll never forget that very moment I fell in your lap!

Fear stretches your beautiful eyes so wide,

I grab your wrist and pull you under the table to hide.

It all comes out; you’re the love of my life,

I ask you then to be my wife,

The rumbling stops and I begin to feel the pain,

It seems  that you think I might be insane!

The security team comes and they lock me away,

but the straight jacket won’t last long, then I’ll be on my way.

Back to you, my love…

About Patti Hall

Writer, daughter, sister, mom, niece, grani, and friend. Works-in-progress; 3 children's books, some poetry and a memoir series, "Souvenirs from My Heart." Pursuits of happiness include gardening, walking the beach, reading, writing, photography, traveling and genealogy. I am a widow (2009), lost my sis in 2012, my aunt and a precious grandson in 2013.

9 comments on “Day 21 Prompt; Crush by Patti

  1. I was wondering what the surprise ending would be and you didn’t disappoint. Amazing.

  2. Nicely done 😛 “Back to you…”
    Ellespeth

  3. Poor girl. Loved the poetry format.

  4. great poem, I loved the ending. 🙂

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

