5 Comments

Prompt: Day 22 – Dream – Medallion

I guess I’m cheating again for this prompt. This piece is a dream I had back in 2008 that was so vivid, I documented it. I apologies for the abrupt ending as my dream was interrupted, and as usual, most dreams are never completed. Enjoy!

I had just finished his half of the night watch over the grounds, and was now heading back to my room. I shuffled along quietly. All was quiet at this time of night until there was the soft sound of someone sobbing in the darkness ahead of me.

“Hello?” I called out. No answer. I continued walking towards the person who was on his knees, sobbing. “Are you alright there?” I asked the student.

The person looked up at me with his tear-streaked face and scarred eyebrow. “Sniff…they killed her. They killed my girlfriend!”
“What?” I said shocked. “Who? Who killed her?”
“I-I don’t know, we were walking back to my dorm together, and then these three shadowy strangers attacked us out of nowhere. I managed to claw something off of one of them. It was like a medallion and it snapped in half when I hit him.” He sobbed.
I looked around. “I think I found one of them missing halves.” I said walking from him and picking something up. “Now, find the other half of this and you’ll find your girlfriend’s killer. Where’s the body?”
“They took her with them after they killed her.” he replied. We started off then, looking around for other clues, when a security guard came around the corner and spotted us. The security guard yelled out and set a pack of hounds after us. He started running away immediately.

We got away from the dogs and kept walking at a fast pace hoping they wouldn’t find us again. As we were walking we noticed a building ahead of us, its lights on and the door slightly open. We went into the building to find what looked to be a very old Victorian like library. The room was clustered from top to toe with books of all ages, sizes and varieties. At a desk at the other end of the room, there was a white haired, well dressed lady, wearing a pink blazer, a pearl necklace and a Victorian broach on her blazer. We walked up to the desk and showed her the broken medallion. The lady smirked and from behind the desk and produced what looked like broken piece of the medallion. There was a loud gasp from the both of us in shock.

This is where the dream ended. What happens next? I’ll leave it up to your imaginations. Why did the librarian have the broken piece of the medallion?!?

About Dean

My name is Dean Kealy and I live in Ireland. I am freelance writer/content creator.

5 comments on “Prompt: Day 22 – Dream – Medallion

  1. Reblogged this on Dean'z Doodlez and commented:
    My submission for Day 22 of the 30 Day Creative Writing Challenge.

  2. Oh! What a magnificent dream this is! I’d say – off the bat – that you’ve managed to attempt to kill off some very old fashioned softer parts of yourself and that it didn’t work out as you planned. lol!
    Ellespeth

  3. I agree with Ellespeth on this one. Usually when you dream about killing someone or someone being killed, subconsciously you are killing off something you don’t want to be a part of anymore or killing of an old way of thinking. Especially when there is something old involved, like an token of some sort or old jewelry.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

