16 Comments

Day 23 Prompt – Out with Ma and Pa

It was just last week, when I stepped through the doorway out of the blinding sunlight into the dimly lit hallway of the Half Way House, that it all came rushing back to me. The last time I visited Black Creek Pioneer Village I was much younger – younger than my smallest son is now. I, an only child, went with my parents and some friends who were visiting from England. It was the only time we went anywhere – when someone was visiting.

Back then, unlike now, there was a bar inside the Half Way House where adults only could sit and have a pint of beer or a refreshing glass of alcoholic cider. Outside in the hallway with its flowery wallpaper there is still the bench. I must have spent a good while there, on my own. Forty years later, give or take a couple, I remember it well.

About LindaGHill

There's a writer in here, clawing her way out.

16 comments on “Day 23 Prompt – Out with Ma and Pa

  1. Interesting how a place can bring back a rush of memories, almost like a snapshot coming to life.

    • It really was. But what surprised me the most was that I was so surprised. Walking into that place was like stepping into a distant dream that I’d actually lived. Kind of like when you hear a song you’d completely forgotten about and yet when you hear it again, all the words come back to you as they’re being sung.

  2. Reminds me of all the times we sat on the porch of some Southern home. Those were the places we learned the best stories of all.

  3. Always fun to return to childhood haunts.

  4. Reblogged this on lindaghill and commented:
    Day 23 Prompt – Describe/fictionalize a childhood memory

  5. Thanks for sharing this visit and place.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

