8 Comments

The Heresy of Before

Outer Zone |September 7, 2113

Little One:

 I have not named you yet, because I do not know if you are a boy-child or girl. I left that life behind when I escaped the towers of Big City for my simple life with your father, my love: Samuel.

I do no t know what will happen in the months to come. We are Outcast and the Oligarch’s forces draw ever nearer, rounding up those who would spread the hearsay of the time Before.

This micro-reader, my one luxury from my old life in Big City, the one thing your father could not deny me, will tell the story of the world we have created here in the Outer Zone. If we are not here to guide you, it will tell of the world we created away from the glittering technorati of Big City, away from the drudgery of the drones. I pray that it will give you hope, and guide you to us once more.

Here, in the Outer Zone, we have few luxuries, but it is not drudgery. There is no plumbing beyond what the community well can provide. Fetching water is a social activity, and I’ve never seen your father move so fast as when he’s trying to get into the tub for his bath before the water cools. We dare to sully our hands and grow our food, and raise it. Your father is a bard and a craftsman and his skills are always in demand. It is a good life.

You may wonder what brought us to this life. The stories differ, but this is how I understand it.

Many years before my birth, Man had brought himself to the brink of destruction. Earthquakes, fires, drought and flood blighted the planet for nearly fifty years. Millions died in either the disasters, or the famine and sickness that spread after.

Then the Greys came. Some said the little men from beyond the stars came in peace, others said they meant to mop up the last of humanity and help the earth start fresh. Your father claimed the world’s armies never gave them the chance to do either. The armies shot the Greys out of the sky and were rewarded with the alien’s technology, which they called cold fusion. The people rejoiced; it seemed that the world would enter a new dawn of innovation and harmony with the earth.

Instead, the destructive cycle began anew. Big City was an old refugee camp that had become the center of the new world. Those that could afford the new technologies lived high. Energy was free, cheap and easy but they kept it for themselves. The rest of Big City still held tight to its refugee roots. The drones are chipped, afforded meager rations and watched. Always watched.

Logo by Dean

Your father is neither drone, nor oligarch’s son. Samuel came to me – serenaded me – with songs from the outside. He had been born there, in a place beyond Big City, beyond the Outer Zone. His tales of it are mysterious, bittersweet and strange, and it is to this place we hope one day to return.

I tire now, and your father insists that I rest. If you are reading this without me, I bid you to rest too, my dearest little one. Though we may be parted, know that we will find you, and bring you home.

All my love . . .

For Day 24 of the Creative Writing Challenge: Write a story set 100 years in the future.

About KM Sullivan

Descended of pirates and revolutionaries, KM Sullivan is a lover and student of all things Irish. Born in the States, she is a dual US/Irish citizen, and studied history and politics at University College, Dublin – although, at the time, she seriously considered switching to law, if only so she could attend lectures at the castle on campus. She lives in the American Midwest with her son, two cats and a pesky character in her head named D (but you can call him Dubh). Her first book, Changelings: Into the Mist, a young adult historical fantasy is available now on Amazon and Barns and Noble. She can be found writing with said character at her blog, The D/A Dialogues.

8 comments on “The Heresy of Before

  1. Reblogged this on The D/A Dialogues and commented:
    D: It is so like you to romanticize a simpler life in the face of apocalypse.
    A: Sorry, what?
    D: You heard me.
    A: Perhaps, but we all have our methods of escapism, D.
    D: We do?
    A: Yep – I happen to know for a fact that yours is–
    D: That is quite enough of that, A. Lovely story you have over there at the Community Storyboard, really. I like it.
    A: (Eye roll) Thanks, D.

  2. I have to agree with D about the romanticize, but disagree with the tone. I think it’s a great and unique view on that type of world. It’s always so dark and heavy, so it’s very refreshing to read something so sweet and loving.

    • Thanks, Charles. It did start off as a bit twisted and horrific in my brain, but then the story changed itself half way though. I like it though, and I like the overall idea. If I could write a post-apocalyptic tale and leave out the science (or get someone else to do it), I would flesh this story out… (D: Get in line, junior – A: D, behave yourself).

  3. I agree with Charles. We often speak of dystopian worlds as if they are wrought with hatred, strife, and fear. A simpler time revealed in a letter to a yet born child is such a sweet way to convey your message of hope.

  4. […] For the Frost prompt of October 20. Also part of the world established in The Heresy of Before. […]

  5. […] the Thing . Samuel’s intro is also part of The Heresy of Before universe, established here and […]

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

