12 Comments

Don’t Mess with the Mystical (Submission for Day 25 Prompt)

Submitted by Vozey

It stood on his hind legs, thin and muscly columns stabbing the ground and ending in thick round thorny claws. From its vertical foot sprouted a huge tensed thigh. Coarse hair jutted out in all directions. Its chest, an envy to all things robust, shifted rapidly with each pant. Bear-like arms ending in impressive claws that screamed their proficiency at tearing living beings to shreds.

Dayotan’s head rocked back as his eyes crawled up to the beast’s head. The luster of its feral eyes transformed the grey shades of the moon into blood-stains. Its ears tucked back under the its fur, nearly touching its neck. Hostility rolled down its wrinkled muzzle. Its brown nose wet and bumpy. Curled lips of black ringed the mouth and dripped with blood lust. The mouth, full of primal teeth, short and long jutting from the wet and red orifices of its gums, was ready to clamp warm flesh. Huge incisors offered a gory death.

Fear lay heavy on every hair on Dayotan’s body. Hackles raised, lips curled, claws extended, and a ferocious display of teeth, it was a familiar and aggressive pose. But, this was no wolf.

Original story found here:
http://vozey.wordpress.com/2013/08/20/dont-mess-with-the-mystical/

About Bradley Corbett

Bradley is a total geek. He loves all thing Science Fiction, Fantasy and is always up for a good pen and paper roleplaying experience.

12 comments on “Don’t Mess with the Mystical (Submission for Day 25 Prompt)

  1. That gave me shivers. Fantastic description and I really want to know more about that monster.

    • Did you figure out what it was? I wondered how many would catch what it was with only the hints given.

      As for reading more about it, it is just a take on the novel I’m writing, a scene that I haven’t written up to yet. When true inspiration comes, I don’t dwindle because I’m not there yet, I just write and hope I can use it when I do get there.

      At the same time, I try not to write about too many of them at more than a rough sketch. Half of the motivation in writing a novel comes from the scenes you’ve been fantasizing about writing. At least for me.

      • I agree with you. I dream up my scenes all the time. Can’t figure out what the critter is and it’s driving me nuts.

      • I’m truly surprised.

        I know that I’ve gotten the point across that it is wolf-like. Hackles raised, curled lip, display of teeth. The barreling bare chest. Stands on two legs. The blood-stained moon is a cliche related to them.

        Heck, to write about them is probably cliche. They are another overused fantasy creature.

      • In that case I was thinking too obscure. Medusa, right?

      • Less obscure. Think lame fantasy romance. Any books come to mind.

        Of course, I don’t try to make mine have romances, they are monsters! They KILL PEOPLE!

        And since when were medusa wolf-like? Snake-like; yes! Sexy-woman-like, could be. But wolf-like. I’ve pushed my imagination to its limit and can’t see that one.

        Its a werewolf.

      • I was joking. Sorry about that.

      • Well I figured you must of been, but it is better not to make such assumptions. I’ve noticed you’ve written a fantasy novel or two, so I figured you couldn’t have fallen of the back of the bus that easily.

        But, were you joking the whole time, or just the Medusa part. That was grand. Medusa… I was thinking what the heckdid I do wrong in my description…

        Thanks for the entertainment anyway!

      • Just the Medusa part. I was trying to think of something obscure so I missed werewolf. I was still in the part if my brain that had Peryton.

      • That makes total sense.

        Twilight has got everyone on a four-legged hottie werewolf spree, so I went with the more ?classical? barrel-chested two-legged horror.

        Plus, there are always ways to put a few spins different or new spins on the classics. But, most of the time, I tend to stay way with the overused ones.

      • The classics have their appeal. I like using them and unique ones.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

