6 Comments

Unmistakable Feature (Prompt – 30th Picture)

KJWouldn’t you know it? The 30th picture on my phone is of one of my children. The odds of that occurring are oh…about 99%. I had to e-mail a photo of my son as a baby for a project but didn’t have a digital copy available so I snapped this picture of a picture I took many years ago.

I’ve been amazed by this blonde-haired, blue-eyed little boy, from the first moment I held him in my arms. How could something so beautiful come from me?

He’s almost a teenager now. The chubby cheeks and double chin have disappeared along with the dimpled hands and “rubber band” wrists. A handsome nasal bridge has transformed the cute little button nose. The rest of the baby teeth popped up and then were pushed out by permanent ones that now adorn a breathtaking smile. The peach fuzz on his baby scalp barely hinted at the cowlicks and widow’s peak that would eventually appear. These days, he keeps his hair trimmed short and spiked with gel to tame the unruly tresses.

His eyes are still a striking blue and I still sometimes wonder if he’s really mine. Then I catch a glimpse of that unmistakable feature that proves he is–the little elf ears–and smile. Yes, he’s mine.

About melissajanda

Writer.Wife.Mother.Bibliophile.Fitness Buff. Curious, Creative being. Recovering CPA, finally in my right brain as an aspiring author, trying to do justice to the stories in my head.

6 comments on “Unmistakable Feature (Prompt – 30th Picture)

  1. He looks to be a happy child 🙂

  2. Elf ears eh? There’s a story waiting to be written, I think!

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

