8 Comments

Day 30 Prompt – A Moment, Condensed

It’s the middle of the day but the sunlight can’t quite seem to penetrate the window screens. A haze rises up from the earth in a drunken, wavy mist and even the cicadas stutter and fall short in their song. The bar is dim. A single fan turns ineffectually above my head. These things I barely notice – I’m thinking of you.

My whiskey glass, filled and refilled a half dozen times with barely enough time for the ice to melt in between, rests now in a pool of its own condensation. As I watch the ice melt, I picture in my mind for the hundred thousandth time our last argument. The one in which you said you didn’t care. You, with your lofty ideas and your selfish words and your face, easy, cheapened by your ideals. You, who I believe really doesn’t give a single flying fuck about anyone but yourself.

Why, I ask myself, do I let you in to my life? Why do I allow you to affect me?

A change in the air as the space before me bloats with your ego causes me to look up from the table. As I thought, you have entered the bar. You stare at me and my ice refreezes. The room is so frigid that my glass is frozen to the table, adhered; as immovable as I have caused myself to be.

I don’t know if it’s the booze or a shift that’s been building up inside for all these years, but I laugh. I scoff at you and the blast of your glare falls impotent to the floor in front of me.

Once again, my glass sits in a puddle of its own condensation. But this time, I’m free.

About LindaGHill

There's a writer in here, clawing her way out.

8 comments on “Day 30 Prompt – A Moment, Condensed

  1. Wow, that was pretty powerful. I loved the line ‘rests now in a pool of its own condensation’ 🙂

  2. That is one of the best endings that I’ve read in a long time. So simple, yet defiant.

  3. This is where I just sit and stare in envy at your writing. Very well done! 🙂

  4. Wow, Linda! This was fantastic. I agree with Charles – a very fine ending.
    Ellespeth

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

