33 Comments

To the Guardian of My Muses

To the Guardian of My Muses
Written by Rarasaur

^^^^^^^^^^

He guards the land
where my garden grows.
With bare hands,
he tends and sows
my plot.

With yapping jaws
and toe-squishing feet,
I broke his laws
and failed to meet
his expectations.

So while he may
have moved along.
I dwell and pray
and sing a song
of apology.

My muses wilt
from so much weight
of tears and guilt–
a full plate
of regret.

Since no muses grow,
I pick at weeds,
and this new low
only feeds
the hunger.

I crave words,
a garden green,
the twitter of birds
inspiration’s glean
for warmth.

I am who loses
not once, but twice–
and again my muses
pay the price
of hubris.

heart

About rarasaur

Ra lives and loves in Los Angeles and the internet, where frightfully wondrous things happen. She is a once-upon-a-time inmate, a reluctantly-optimistic widow, an exponential storyteller, and also basically a dinosaur. Her own story is a long one, but the short version is she (probably) loves you. Stop by and say hey.

33 comments on “To the Guardian of My Muses

  1. […] I wrote a poem for The Community Storyboard. […]

  2. I love your imagery – wilted muses (just right in a neglected garden), yapping jaws, toe-squishing feet (and how could a dinosaur always manage to dodge us tiny critters, no matter how careful she is?). Also, I like the structure, the way each stanza dances along with rhyme and meter and then ends in a regretful little thud. Nice!

    (And about that heart – is that a coronet or dinosaur teeth? Or both?)

    • Thank you so much! For popping by to read, and for being such a kind reviewer. ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m particularly fond of this poetic structure because it lends well to my natural speech pattern… I never know if it’ll translate to someone who doesn’t speak like me, but I like the way it thuds in my mind. ๐Ÿ˜€

      The heart- it was supposed to be dino teeth, but I wasn’t paying attention when I centered them, so they ended up there… it looks like a jaunty little crown to me, so I kept it! ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Great poem Rara! ๐Ÿ™‚ I mention this all the time but I am horrible at understanding poetry but I think I get this one, lol. I do like the green heart! Green hearts are cool! :mrgreen:

    • ๐Ÿ˜€ Thank you! It’s not a very posh-poetry tactic, but I try to write poetry that has a little story to it. In this case, it’s just about how nothing kills my writing muse like feeling like I hurt someone’s feelingsโ€ฆ especially not someone who helps and supports my writing! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yay for green heart love! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Nice flow. Lovely imagery. Wilted muses. Nice.

  5. Love the last lines. Pay the price for hubris. Now that is someone who has read the classics. It is a tough balance to invoke the muses without getting a big head about being able to invoke them. {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

    • I *think* I first learned about hubris eons ago through the Odyssey, so you may be spot on about the classics thing. ๐Ÿ˜€ Luckily for my ego, most of my muses are real people and events– that keeps me grounded, but I’ve been known to step on a toe or two. It’s these darn dino feet! Thank you for reading, Kozo!

  6. Muses have much to answer for. ๐Ÿ™‚ Loved the poetry and the dino heart.

  7. Nice finishing touch with the RaraHeart!

  8. This is so amazing! I’m sorry for not offering my appreciation for you sharing this earlier. Today was the first day of home school for my boys…enough said. Regardless, you make this site look fabulous. I am always in awe of your ability to make me see your writing in a more physical way.

    • Thank you, Ionia! This site IS fabulous, with or without me– you guys do a fantastic job here. ๐Ÿ™‚ Congrats on surviving day 1 of home school, haha, ๐Ÿ™‚ and thank you for reading and having me!

  9. I love this, Rara – I love the imagery of wilted muses, but I also really liked the ‘I crave words,’ line – words are what get me every time!

    • Yay! Thank you, Katie! That’s the line that sticks with me, too– when I’m empty on words, I think of that phrase and how true it’s always been for me. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for reading!

  10. Very beautiful poem Rara, ‘My muses wilt
    from so much weight
    of tears and guiltโ€“
    a full plate
    of regret.’ , and the last one, superb.

  11. Loved it!! Treat our muses and inspirations with care, love our imaginations as well!!

  12. You have such a gift. A poignant poem, and a great heart.

  13. […] the hard-not-to-adore Rarasaur joined forces with the Community Storyboard to bring you a wonderful series of poems. They are all wonderful, but A has a soft spot for the first, “To the Guardian of My […]

  14. […] The Community Storyboard – 8/26/13 – To the Guardian of My Muses […]

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The ร†ons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harmยทless drudgยทery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

