52 Comments

A First Kiss

A First Kiss
Written by Rarasaur

^^^^^^^^^^

The earth moved,
I felt it tilt,
ever so slightly.

Our lips touched,
I fell into you,
ever so rightly.

The stars shook,
I saw them pulse,
ever so brightly.

My eyes closed,
I held them shut,
ever so tightly.

My heart awoke,
I heard it beat,
ever so lightly.

A first kiss
breaks free from once
and happens nightly.

heart

About rarasaur

Ra lives and loves in Los Angeles and the internet, where frightfully wondrous things happen. She is a once-upon-a-time inmate, a reluctantly-optimistic widow, an exponential storyteller, and also basically a dinosaur. Her own story is a long one, but the short version is she (probably) loves you. Stop by and say hey.

52 comments on “A First Kiss

  1. Beautiful poem. It sounds like the first kiss that everyone dreams of.

  2. wow – this is awesome. oh how i wish this could be real – for me that is.

  3. Fun fact, the first girl I ever kissed said let’s just be friends the next date. πŸ˜€

  4. Awwwwwwwwwwwww……………. Sweet.

  5. Awe!!! Really, my first kiss was terrible. My dog bit him on the arse at the exact moment our lips met and he screamed out “Oh shit!” I have been insecure ever since.

  6. My first love (never got to the kissing stage) resulted in detention (kindergarden I think). I tried to kiss him, he said no, I dumped juice on his head.

  7. Ionia’s comment cracked me up, distracting oneself from how beautifully written this post is πŸ™‚

  8. Beautiful poem … Wish my first kiss had been like this. Unfortunately he was wearing braces ;(

  9. […] There’s more poetry from me over at the Community Storyboard! One is about being a workaholic, and the other is about first kisses. […]

  10. Oh wow, I’m too old to remember my first kiss! πŸ˜‰ I guess it was not as sweet as this poem though! Good going rara!

  11. Loved this Rara! The first verse is my favourite.

  12. How sweetly described πŸ™‚

    I can’t remember mine, which means I have probably blocked it out for good reason πŸ™‚

  13. I love the last line, Rara, although it makes me jealous of Dave as usual. Love the rhyming with -ightly. It feels like a first kiss.
    I can’t remember my first kiss, but I do remember when a girl I liked licked my ear. I got so excited that i told her I loved her and ran away. {{{Hugs}}} kozo

  14. Ah…lovely the first kiss! And keeping the magic alive a daily conquest.

  15. That actually brought back some vivid memories – really like it πŸ˜‰

  16. I’m not good at splitting what a like a LOT and what I like a lot. Both of your poems are tops in my book. If this choice was a matter of money, I would choose the First Kiss because it is something we all remember. I’m not saying the second one isn’t great too.

  17. My first Kiss was at a party during one of those party games–but the guy was cute and the kiss sweet though it was not from someone special

    • Oh those party games, I pretty much avoided them like the plague. I seriously think I would have ingested the plague before playing. That was one of the few times I was grateful for my popularity– I could call an end to those things! Awkwardness slays me.

  18. I’m cheating a bit and lifting this from a post I wrote a while back:

    I was ten the first time I kissed a boy. It was under his porch, down the street from my own house. His name was Johnny** and sometimes he wore a denim jacket without a shirt and rode a dirt bike in the woods behind his house. Yes, the very same woods that would burn down a few years later. I scribbled our initials in chalk on the sidewalk in big, balloon hearts with loopy ‘forevers’ and bizarrely inappropriate acronyms like “Holland” (Hope-our-love-lasts-and-never-dies) and “China” (Come-here-I-need-action). We made out in the summer twilight after rounds of kick the can, played coy games of spin-the-bottle, and, I kid you not, slow danced to REO Speedwagon in his driveway one time. I still can’t hear that particular song without tales of that 4th grade summer surfacing. My husband makes fun of me every time it comes on the radio. But if I knew what the word swoon meant when I was ten, then surely I did so.

    I’ll have to dig out the poems though…

  19. This is so sweet, Rara. I just remember mine being like 1,000 butterflies trying to burst out of my chest. Then, I floated all the way home.
    I love your poetry. πŸ˜€

  20. While reading your poem Rara, I could feel butterflies in my heart πŸ™‚

  21. […] The Community Storyboard – 8/28/13 – A First Kiss […]

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Γ†ons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harmΒ·less drudgΒ·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

