15 Comments

I Can Only See You Now,

I can only see you now, as just a thought or touch.

It even seems that some days, the pain it feels too much.

Its seeps within the despair I sense and fuels the ache I feel,

It’s in the smell of coffee beans, or a tune that seems so real.

 

I can only see you now, when I close my eyes to sleep,

Your face appears within my dreams, the ones I cannot keep.

Where bodies join and passions spend, a sheen of sated bliss,

Your tongue it steals across my lips and seals a whispered kiss.

 

I can only see you now, when time stands fast and still,

Tiny pockets of emptiness, that I let your darkness fill

Postcard written memories of all the times we shared,

Of endless possibilities, and times when you had cared.

  

I can only see you now, across a crowded street,

A tap of quickened footsteps, but still we do not meet.

I call your name, you do not hear, and then you fade away,

I knew I should have listened when you said you couldn’t stay.

 

I can only see you now, as a memento of my sorrow,

I loved you then, I love you still, I’ll love you on the morrow. 

About helenmidgley

Helen Midgley likes to think of herself as a cross between Dawn French and Kate Moss. She has been in the witness protection programme for a number of years and once lived in Brighton as a bearded mechanic called Dave! Her current incarnation is as a part-time Journalism & Media tutor at a small FE College in Yorkshire. She has survived cancer, dandruff and athlete’s foot and has a penchant for black humour and red wine.

15 comments on “I Can Only See You Now,

  1. Helen, this is simply incredible. I am so sorry for not getting to this sooner. You made me tear up, made me shiver. Reblogging.

  2. Reblogged this on readful things blog and commented:

    One of the most beautiful pieces I have seen. Please take a moment to read.

  3. It is a truly lovely and heartbreaking poem. Well done, Helen!

  4. Helen, you really have a gift. This poem draws us together in sentiments that most of us have felt, yet only you could put them together with such…grace.

  5. Ah yes!! Totally agree with Ionia – this is very beautiful – haunting!!love it!! 🙂

  6. Awesome. I especially like, “…Postcard written memories…”

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

