8 Comments

Where Did The Summer Go?

Submitted by Belle Morgan.

I live in New England. You can tell when the summer starts. Everyone gets “the legs out”. In the office, the flipping of the flip-flops are heard everywhere. Skirts get shorter; shorts are in season; everyone is getting a tan. Restaurants open their roofs and outdoor patios. Convertible cars and motorbikes, which have been in storage for the previous 7 months, are now everywhere to be seen. The highways are laden with traffic heading to the beach areas every weekend.

And the fruit flies. Oh god, the fruit flies are EVERYWHERE! It’s enough for me to wish that winter would return.

I’m a tropical person. I like to see the sun and I like to feel the sun…but not too much. When I just moved here, people used to ask me during the summer months if I went outside that weekend. No, why? I would ask. “Because the sun was out!” they would say. I told them that where I was from the sun was expected to be out all day, and we didn’t practice going out into the sun if we didn’t have to. Of course, we only had one season there: Summer.

Summer now has a whole new meaning for me. I have to take a break from my desk and go for a one or two mile walk around the building several times a week just to get some sun. The kids are out of school and my husband and I spend most of the weeks dropping them off and picking them up from various activities at various times of the day. I’m at Whole Foods trying to buy as many summer fruits as I can. I have also now joined the mass of people trying to get to the beach or a pool at some time or other during the two-month window of summer that we have here. And yes, I too, have to get my legs out.

But now it’s all over. The notice regarding the pool closing on Labor Day and schools re-opening on Tuesday are two sure signs that summer is, in effect, all gone.

Sigh! Winter is coming….

At least all the fruit flies will be gone.

Seaside summer pic

About Charles Yallowitz

Charles E. Yallowitz was born, raised, and educated in New York. Then he spent a few years in Florida, realized his fear of alligators, and moved back to the Empire State. When he isn't working hard on his epic fantasy stories, Charles can be found cooking or going on whatever adventure his son has planned for the day. 'Legends of Windemere' is his first series, but it certainly won't be his last.

8 comments on “Where Did The Summer Go?

  1. This has been a terrible year for fruit flies 😦 I’d like to visit New England – in the fall or spring. I’ve heard it’s beautiful there that time of year.
    Ellespeth

    • Fall and Spring here are just awesome! (did I really say that?) But this is how I get sucked in. By the end of the fall I’m just loving the mild temperatures and the falling leaves….and then the winter comes!

  2. We came to New England for the Fall a few years ago and really loved it.

  3. Nicely written! I am in a place with only summer. I think I brought my coat out three days last year. I don’t know if I could take a New England Winter, but I do so love the falls there.

  4. […] Where Did The Summer Go? (neverendingstorydepository.wordpress.com) […]

  5. I was born in New England ( don’t miss the winters !!) Spring,Summer & Fall are beautiful times of the year though !! Lived in Kentucky for about 20 yrs ( did not the winters there either!). Moved to Florida about 1 year ago & love it !!

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

