15 Comments

Writing Prompt Autumn Memories

One of my favorite childhood memories took place in the autumn about 50 years ago. We had huge trees in our yard. That meant, of course, that there were always lots of leaves to rake. Lots of leaves and it seemed to be an everyday thing to do for weeks on end. Now that I’m an adult, I realize that it probably only lasted a few days at most.

My mom used to rake them into little rows. Those rows would form “walls” of my imaginary house. I would have a bedroom, a kitchen, dining room and a living room. I could play for hours in my leaf house. My imaginary friend, Sally and I would talk, have tea parties, sweep the floor of stray leaves and tidy up the walls. I tried to get my cat, Mrs. Beasley, to stay inside the leaf house, but she wasn’t having any of that. She walked right through the walls, destroying them as she went. She wasn’t very cooperative with most things, she hated it when I tried to dress her in a baby bonnet and put her in a baby buggy too.

My daddy would come home from work and rake the leaves into a giant pile. I would jump into the pile and throw leaves in the air. Or I would burrow under the leaves and hide. When I popped up again, I would have leaves stuck to my sweatshirt and in my hair.

Things like that never bothered me when I was little. I can’t imagine laying in a pile of leaves and getting them stuck to me today. Why do we grow up and lose the fun in life? When do we get too big to enjoy the simple things and let our imaginations run wild?

Simple things, like just a pile of dead leaves on the ground can inspire so much in a child. Don’t stifle that creativity – you may never get it back again.

About Pamela Beckford

I'm a person, poet and a blogger. I have opinions that are solely my own. I am an avid reader and love to connect with people all through my life.

15 comments on “Writing Prompt Autumn Memories

  1. You described my childhood as well. Very well done.

  2. I did that all the time as a kid. The only I answer I have to your questions is because as adults, we have to clean the mess. I know as a kid, I didn’t mind making the mess because my dad would rake the leaves again and my man would clean my clothes. Now I do it, so I have that moment of ‘do I really want to clean leaf parts out of my laundry?’

  3. Thanks for the memories. I remember doing something like that with the broad leafed coffee weed plants that grew in my Grandmother’s garden spot in late fall after the garden was gone. They would get four to six feet high and we were just small things, so we would press the weeds back to make rooms and hallways for our “houses”. We could not see each other from our different rooms, so we made string and tin can “phones”. We would also come in covered in red clay that would never wash out of our clothes, so they always looked pink. I hated that stuff when I got big enough to do laundry!

  4. […] Writing Prompt Autumn Memories (neverendingstorydepository.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] Writing Prompt Autumn Memories (neverendingstorydepository.wordpress.com) […]

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

