11 Comments

Today Will Be Foggy w/ Moments of Lucidity – A Poem (with an odd prose bit)

This first part is me trying not to be so shy – followed by a poem:
This is a little something I worked on a few weeks ago and put into my delete folder. I keep a delete folder of stuff I’m fairly certain should never again see the light of day (a real hard copy folder). Now and then I open this folder – mostly on days that aren’t going particularly well. I’m smirking over here 😛 When I can no longer blame the awfulness of a poem or a story or a novel outline on something other than myself, I delete it. So this began as some 30 or so lines of poetry which today I’ve decided to edit into these 10 lines. It may survive the final hatchet. It was totally edited on my brand new used Adler manual typewriter:)  I wonder about other writers and other opinions of deciding that works merit continued effort.  I may start a thread on this – when I’m more lucid 😛  I expected to hate this poem once again…I only hated 20 lines of it.  That’s pretty damned good for almost DOA.

Today Will Be Foggy w/ Moments of Lucidity

At the edge of the forest
looking into the fog
there is a path’s calling
that matters more
than questions or answers…
and the stream flows its song to us
and the dry leaves break beneath our steps
and the expected surprises us
in an unexpected way
at the edge of the forest.

Ellespeth

*first creative work on  my new old manual Adler typewriter – subject to change**

About Ellespeth

I'm a poet. Sometimes I write stories and other nonsense. Ellespeth

11 comments on “Today Will Be Foggy w/ Moments of Lucidity – A Poem (with an odd prose bit)

  1. This is great! It’s a good thing it made the cut!

  2. I’m not one to really judge poetry, but if this was considered border-line worthy once…you were wrong. I liked it very mucho grande!

    • Thanks, Trey! I’m glad you liked this. There are many others in the folder. Hey! I read about your coffee ‘problem’…being a cajun, I wonder if you’ve tried mixing some chicory into your coffee? It has a very nice flavor and lessens the caffeine – which causes ‘digestive issues’ for some. You can order coffee with chicory online or even pick up a can during your travels – if you make down to bayou country.
      Ellespeth

  3. Wow, I love this, how could you hate it, its beautifully written with such a smooth flow 🙂

    • Thank you, Helen. It’s not that I actually hated it…it was quite long and rambling at 30 lines.. but holds more promise at 10 lines – it would seem. I always appreciate your comments and your support of my work.
      Ellespeth

  4. […] Today Will Be Foggy w/ Moments of Lucidity – A Poem (with an odd prose bit) (neverendingstorydepository.wordpress.com) […]

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

