41 Comments

Weekly prompt: angst and longing in poetic form

Weekly prompt: beginning tomorrow offer up your best poetic pieces with the theme of angst and longing. Any form of poetry is acceptable. To get things started, here is an offering from me:)

Imaginings of us together
Was only ever dreams
A haunted, desperate longing
Or now so it seems

Two flightless, sightless birds
Looking into the sun
Intent on holding on
Needing the warmth of someone

Now in the calmest hours
Before the day has dawned
I reach for you but you’re not there
In this violent stillness you are gone

Caught up in a whirlpool
Of tides that crest and fall
Struggling for oxygen
Making sense of nothing at all

You taught me about love and life
You taught me how to feel
And swiftly I reminded you
That what we had was real

From this endless ocean
I will now swim to the shore
Still echoing your words of promise
For now and ever more

About ionia martin

book blogger and reviewer, mother of four boys, classical pianist and amateur photographer. I love reading, writing, music and learning to cook new and unusual dishes. You can usually find me with my nose buried in a book unless I have the opportunity to be walking on the beach collecting seashells:)

41 comments on “Weekly prompt: angst and longing in poetic form

  1. Reblogged this on readful things blog and commented:

    Prompt at the community board for this upcoming week: angst and longing

  2. Wow. Very emotional and you definitely set a great example. The poem really holds longing and angst within its words.

  3. I love your reference of struggle relative to the sea. The sea is such a turbulent element. I almost always equate water with deep emotion. The sea is filled with ever changing emotion, a constant state of flux. Yet, the sea itself is constant. “The sea changes color, but the sea does not change.” ~ Stevie Nicks

  4. beautiful poem Ionia… I may give this prompt a go if I can clean off my slate long enough to tackle it…

  5. Gosh, you really started it off with a bang. Not sure if we need to even vote for featured post on this one… you win. So haunting…. *HUGS*

  6. Lovely. I must say this piece is bittersweet. Sad but still lovely. I can certainly feel the longing. I may have to try this prompt. All I seem to write these days is sad stuff. I should be able to conjure something.

  7. Just glorious, the emotion is so clear and so close to the surface – lovely!! 🙂 🙂

  8. I loved this, Ionia. Keep up the magnificent work!

  9. Beautiful words and beautiful flow, way to go girl 🙂

  10. Reblogged this on 1WriteWay and commented:

    New weekly writing prompt from The Community Storyboard!

  11. Beautiful, and a great prompt (:

  12. You set the bar on this. I looked up angst and longing in the dictionary and this poem was there. Great job.

  13. Reblogged this on Fiction Favorites and commented:

    You may want to submit.

  14. […] Submitted by Misha Burnett for the Weekly Prompt. […]

  15. […] the Angst and Longing prompt at the Community […]

  16. One would prefer an echo to nothing…I agree. Thanks for the poem and the prompt and all…
    take care until next time…
    Ellespeth

  17. […] For the Weekly Prompt, Angst and Longing – in poetry. […]

  18. […] * I haven’t edited it. I am being quite lazy. It is written in consideration of CSB Weekly Prompt Angst and Longing. […]

  19. Powerful write, Ionia. I wrote something as well- Pilgrims of the Lost World. I pinged back to this post but it was with the old title.

  20. […] come easy, A. I’m talking about the poem you wrote for the Community Storyboard, the one for this week’s prompt on angst and longing. I . . . I knew you could do […]

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

