20 Comments

Warrior’s lament

Mists of time creep by

Filling my senses

And dulling my pain.

I hope.

Once you did love me

A promise you gave

For your kiss, I longed.

I dream.

The burden of honor

The call of my clan

Did tear us apart.

I fight.

Brothers surround me

But always alone

Mired in treachery.

I rage.

Though victory was ours

Too few did return

I was lost to you then.

I weep.

I left to wander

To court jealous gods

History, myth and legend.

I live.

One day I’ll return

Old hurts forgotten

I will hold you and whisper,

My love.

For the Weekly Prompt, Angst and Longing – in poetry.

About KM Sullivan

Descended of pirates and revolutionaries, KM Sullivan is a lover and student of all things Irish. Born in the States, she is a dual US/Irish citizen, and studied history and politics at University College, Dublin – although, at the time, she seriously considered switching to law, if only so she could attend lectures at the castle on campus. She lives in the American Midwest with her son, two cats and a pesky character in her head named D (but you can call him Dubh). Her first book, Changelings: Into the Mist, a young adult historical fantasy is available now on Amazon and Barns and Noble. She can be found writing with said character at her blog, The D/A Dialogues.

20 comments on “Warrior’s lament

  1. Epic poem that really captures the feelings of a warrior. I really like how you get the reader to drift into his life instead of hitting them over the head with it.

  2. Wow, very good Katie. I love how it feels like… mmm… dreams and memories and that ending… so good.

    • Thank you! I’m getting over my fear of writing D’s ballad – this might end up being part of it. 🙂

      • oh wow, you’re going to write a ballad? That sounds really cool. Yeah this would fit right in with a ballad.

      • Thank you . It’ll be a Celtic ballad/oral story, which popped up when I was finishing the first draft of the book (right around the time I figured out D’s real name), and realized that if I was going to reference it, I should probably have/write it. It’s taking shape, and I think the personal bits – D’s story, and the story of his lover, might be drafted for this prompt. Then it’s just a matter of writing the 3rd-person narrative over it (she says as though it’s not something that has kept her awake nights for nearly a month worrying… 😉 ).

  3. The honor of duty and love. Sometimes such a conflict. Very well done!

  4. I love this, Katie! It is epic indeed, moody and sad. Well done 🙂

  5. Wow, great piece. I really feel the sense of epic and a story passed through generations, well done 🙂

  6. […] Warrior’s lament (neverendingstorydepository.wordpress.com) […]

  7. […] of pieces that will act as a ‘record’ of this Seventh Century ballad/love story. Warrior’s Lament, also on the Community Storyboard, is part of the compendium as […]

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

