13 Comments

Weekly Prompt – Angst and Longing

Here is my effort ……

 

The ripping sound, it soothes my soul

As I shred another page

Of squirls of ink, of words part formed

The demons of my teen-age

 

I wear my statement in robes of black

Stark contrast to the paleness of face

To deliver my message to those who doubt

This is something that I must embrace

 

Deafening beats thump through my head

Their pounding as balm on a sore

Reaching out to my heart, my inner self

Though their darkness I know, others abhor

 

I am not that youth of yesteryear

He has gone, long since left behind

My mind feels possessed, control I have lost

To this existence of sorrow and fear of mind

 

The censure of many I do receive

As I traverse, and they witness my demise

My appearance is just one of many great flags

Pointing my journey, no longer am I on the rise

 

They snigger, they point, they mutter in their clans

But my head I hold high and keep walking

Inside I am breaking, they know not how confused

For I am to them a mere shell, a man long since stopped talking

 

The tentacles are great, they have taken hold

I am like a demon now at its mercy

I cannot feel, I am numb to all hurt

My actions, reactions, now legendary, the subject of much heresay

 

Many have tried and all have failed

To reach where I am currently at

I don’t let them in, I want to be left alone

To my teenage angst ridden soul and that is simply – that

 

© Jade Reyner 2013

 

About Jade Reyner

I am on a huge writing journey. I started my first novel just over two years ago and I am now proud to say that I have written nearly three. My dream is to become a published author and I am now working very hard, along with an editor, to accomplish that goal. Other than writing I love my family, cats and chocolate! Feel free to say Hi! :-)

13 comments on “Weekly Prompt – Angst and Longing

  1. Lovely. Well, not lovely, more beautiful. But not that either. Sort of soul crushing and heartfelt. Very well done. That’s what I mean. You totally nailed ‘angst and longing’.
    Difficult to call something so portrayed, by any name really. Very, very well done. *applause*
    And lovely. And sadly beautiful.
    Lost for words. Didn’t even know that was possible. 🙂 x

  2. Hi, Jade, you’ve neatly captured the angst and longing of a teen-age soul. It reminds me of some of my own difficult times as a teen-ager when “no one understood me” and how painful it was. How often I just wanted to be left alone in my misery, longing for I don’t know what. You really captured it well and with great sympathy.

  3. Talk about angst. This is it. Nice Job.

  4. Well done! I’m a bit lttp but I agree with what everyone else has said. 🙂

  5. […] My bad. Not Daily Prompt but Angst and Longing ( WEEKLY storyboard)  So, I didn’t miss the postman! Knew I’d seen it […]

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

