6 Comments

I Don’t Know Why I’m Sorry Anymore – A Poem

I never wanted
to appear
weak
so
whatever else
that might mean
now
it doesn’t mean more
than it does to me
–  all the time
we wasted
being pictures
in a frame.
I’m sorry.
Living
outside the box
used to be so difficult.
I’m sorry
loving you
now seems to be
the purest decision
I’ve ever made
and that
I love you more
without you
than I ever did
with you.
I’m sorry
it hurts
so fucking much
to grow up
and that
we don’t talk much anymore
after all those years.

Ellespeth

About Ellespeth

I'm a poet. Sometimes I write stories and other nonsense. Ellespeth

6 comments on “I Don’t Know Why I’m Sorry Anymore – A Poem

    • I guess, in the long term, many of us are sorry one moment to the next. Sorrow is fluctuating at times. Don’t know how we end up there, but we do. Thanks for reading and for your comment.
      Ellespeth

  1. Oh, this brought back memories of a past relationship, the only other relationship in my life where we found ourselves on the cusp of a permanent commitment. Thank god it didn’t happen 😉 But these lines struck me the most: “I love you more / without you / than I ever did / with you.” Growing up was definitely a big part of being able to love him more now that he’s no longer part of my life. It amazes me how poetry can evoke such memories, emotions in someone other than the poet. Of course, that’s poetry at its best, but it still always surprises me.

  2. […] I Don’t Know Why I’m Sorry Anymore – A Poem (neverendingstorydepository.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] I Don’t Know Why I’m Sorry Anymore – A Poem (neverendingstorydepository.wordpress.com) […]

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

