5 Comments

One Day

Submitted by Robynn Gabel for the One Day Prompt.

One day I woke up and realized I was an adult.
All decisions made from now on would be mine,
And there would be no one else to blame but myself.

One day I said, “I do”, to a handsome man,
Promising to love, cherish and hold,
Through sickness and health, and for richer or poorer.

One day I looked into eyes of my child.
She had her daddy’s smile and hands so small.
Love overflowed in a heart I thought could hold no more.

One day I stood at my sister’s graveside.
Realizing life was short and time had run out,
To say those words of love that I thought I would say later.

One day silent tears fell all around.
Mistakes had been made and I hoped
My children could learn to forgive me as I forgave them.

One day I watched the flight of leaves.
Trees colored in vivid hues lined the horizon.
Admiration filled me for the unseen creator of all.

One day I watched my youngest child drive away.
All of them gone meant I had time on my hands.
The dreams I had put away were now mine to explore.

One day I received news that chilled my heart.
My love had cancer and the prognosis was grim.
We learned that each day was a gift and cherished it as such.

One day I will stand on the threshold of heaven.
Time no longer will be measured in days,
And the treasure of lessons I learned here, I will carry for eternity.

About Charles Yallowitz

Charles E. Yallowitz was born, raised, and educated in New York. Then he spent a few years in Florida, realized his fear of alligators, and moved back to the Empire State. When he isn't working hard on his epic fantasy stories, Charles can be found cooking or going on whatever adventure his son has planned for the day. 'Legends of Windemere' is his first series, but it certainly won't be his last.

5 comments on “One Day

  1. Beautiful and so moving, You almost had me in tears.

  2. truly touching and yes I was in tears! It will stay with me.

  3. Beautifully written, Robynn.

  4. Such well written heartache

  5. Very lovely poem, Robynn. Yes, it moved me to tears as well.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

