10 Comments

One Day…….

old-lady

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One day I will grow into who I’ll become,

A childhood that’s moulded and shaped by the sway,

The belief in the future and the good things to come,

Yes, I’ll know who I am from that very first day.

 

One day I will know what it is to be loved,

To be held and be kissed like the storybooks say,

To be touched and be wanted, a love that is lived,

Yes, I’ll know what it is to be loved for a day.

 

One day I will know what it is to be whole,

To no longer be searching for the part that’s astray,

To join with another and share the one soul,

Yes, I’ll know what it is to be whole for a day.

 

One day I will know what it is to be old,

To only have memories to dream and replay,

Of echoes and shadows and things I can’t hold,

Yes, I’ll know I had love once, if just for a day.

 

About helenmidgley

Helen Midgley likes to think of herself as a cross between Dawn French and Kate Moss. She has been in the witness protection programme for a number of years and once lived in Brighton as a bearded mechanic called Dave! Her current incarnation is as a part-time Journalism & Media tutor at a small FE College in Yorkshire. She has survived cancer, dandruff and athlete’s foot and has a penchant for black humour and red wine.

10 comments on “One Day…….

  1. Those days once passed so slowly and now they are like minutes on the face of a clock.

  2. Good poem Helen. As an aged one I can say I took comfort in the line “To only have memories to dream and replay.” At least the memories will be there.

  3. That was pleasant to read; it had a nice cadence to it. I like the a-b-a-b rhyme scheme, not everyone can pull it off. Thank you for sharing.

  4. Well done, Helen. There is much I enjoyed about this poem, the cadence, the sentiments, but the first line sticks with me the most: “One day I will grow into who I’ll become.” I’m still waiting for that day 🙂

  5. Very poignant, Helen. 🙂 It really made me think.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

