12 Comments

October 13th Prompt – Yesterday

It’s Sunday, and time once again for the Weekly Prompt at The Community Storyboard.

This week I’d like to see what everyone can do with the word “Yesterday …”

Interpret it as you will, but the word yesterday must appear somewhere in your work, be it the title or in the middle of a sentence. Write poetry, prose, fiction, or memoir it is yours to create.

Here is mine:

Yesterday by John W. Howell ©2013

“Yes sir. Can I help you?”

“I’m not sure. I think I have lost my way. Is this a hotel?”

“No sir. This is not a hotel it is a reception area.”

“Well it looks like a hotel. You actually look the  front desk clerk.”

“I can assure you sir this is no hotel and I’m not a clerk.”

“Then where am I?”

“Do you remember anything about yesterday?”

“Yesterday? Let me think.”

“Weren’t you driving your car? Going to San Francisco wasn’t it?”

“Yeah. I was driving. Wait a minute. I was driving down US One and there was a dog or goat or something in the road.”

“And the ocean was to your left.”

“Yes the ocean was─ wait, how did you know?”

“Don’t worry about that. The ocean was on the left and there was a huge cliff down to the water right?”

“Yeah there was.”

“Go on.”

“I swerved to avoid hitting the animal.”

“To the left or right?”

“What?”

“Did you swerve to the left or right?”

“Let me see. To the left I think.”

“And if you swerved to the left there was nowhere to go but over the cliff.”

“But if I went over the cliff, I would have fallen hundreds of feet to the water.”

“Um. Remember anything?

“Shit. I’m dead, right?”

“You said it not me.”

“Who are you anyway?”

“I’ll give you three guesses.”

Good luck to you all.

CSB-Logo-John

About John W. Howell

I have been working in business for over forty years and now have the time to work in special areas of interest. My passion has always been to create compelling stories of fiction. I have authored two novels and am working on my third. The first novel is still in manuscript form and being utilized as a door stop in the laundry room. The second is a contemporary fiction novel of 89,000 words and is complete and I am currently seeking a publisher. I also write poetry but have not had the guts to share any with anyone. The one time I read a piece to a person their only comment was, “it doesn’t rhyme.” I will continue to write and hopefully my blog, Fiction Favorites at www.johnwhowell.com will provide some entertainment and an interesting thought or two. I live by the Gulf of Mexico with my wife Molly and an assortment of loving pets.

12 comments on “October 13th Prompt – Yesterday

  1. Reblogged this on Year 'Round Thanksgiving Project and commented:

    This week’s prompt. We want YOU to contribute.

  2. Reblogged this on Legends of Windemere and commented:

    The newest Community Storyboard prompt.

  3. Nice, John. 🙂 Just one thing. Are we to put the word ‘yesterday’ or the word ‘tomorrow’ in the piece? Because I don’t see the word ‘tomorrow’ in yours.

  4. Reblogged this on The Literary Syndicate and commented:

    The newest prompt from the Storyboard! Check it out my friends!

  5. Oh how I hate highway 1. Lovely views but….I even have a t-shirt ‘I survived highway 1″. I liked this piece, John – exactly what I needed a few days before leaving on vacation. Luckily, we’re headed inland 😛
    Ellespeth

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

