37 Comments

Yesterday She Was

Great Grandma with Grandson

Great Grandma with Grandson

Yesterday she was smiling
And laughing from her chair
As I tried a magic show

Yesterday she watched me
Guardian of the cookies
While my parents were away

Yesterday she was telling tales
Of strong tea in Ireland
And riveting during the second war

Yesterday she danced a waltz
With my grandfather by her side
Only they could hear the music

Yesterday she rang her bell
To get Passover moving on
Cutting off our rambling talks

Yesterday she scolded us
Grandpa piggybacking me
Up the stairs and through the wall

Yesterday is what I hold
For the stories and the smiles
To help her legacy live on

CSB-Featured-Post

About Charles Yallowitz

Charles E. Yallowitz was born, raised, and educated in New York. Then he spent a few years in Florida, realized his fear of alligators, and moved back to the Empire State. When he isn't working hard on his epic fantasy stories, Charles can be found cooking or going on whatever adventure his son has planned for the day. 'Legends of Windemere' is his first series, but it certainly won't be his last.

37 comments on “Yesterday She Was

  1. This is very moving. Beautiful use of the prompt.

  2. Very touching, Charles. And as you say, very timely.

  3. Well done, sir. Memories are incredible things to hold on to.

  4. Exceptional. Very moving.

  5. Moved me to tears, Charles. Your writing is beautiful.

  6. Written with tenderness and love. Beautiful poem.

  7. So beautiful, Charles. Not just the words but the memories you will forever have…the memories so many of us have of our grandma. Thank you for this moving insight into your life and your family.
    I’m thinking of you and your grandma. I’m hoping she receives what she needs to let go this world and dance happily into the next.
    Email me if you need to talk..
    Ellespeth

  8. Reblogged this on chrismcmullen and commented:
    This heartfelt poem moved me emotionally. It just seems to me that poetry like this needs to be shared.

  9. Reblogged this on mybrandofgenius and commented:

    A sweet and sincere Tribute to grandmother love, which is irreplaceable.

  10. Peace be with you today and always. A truly beautiful, heartfelt piece.

  11. Beautiful memories. I lost my Mother on 5th Sept 2013 and the pain is eased thinking of our last holiday together in July 2013 – it was a blessing and a cherished memory.
    Stories, phrases and memories of those who have passed help so much. I can great comfort in the fact she is now with my Father, the love of her life and they are happy together, watching over us all.

  12. So moving…the yesterdays that keep our loved ones with us even today…beautiful.

  13. simply precious – like memories such as these.

  14. I like the blend of young with old, both needing help, both able to give so much love. Where my 95-year-old aunt lives there is a child care center, and I believe the 2 age groups interact sometimes. Love the lines!

  15. This poem is a beautiful, tonight,, as it was when I read it earlier in the week. I’m so happy to see it featured here. I hope all is well with you, Charles. I’;ll catch better up when we return from our trip.
    Ellespeth

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

