5 Comments

Yesterday Once More…

Image

Breaking down the future in “Yesterday”

I got to thinking about things this morning. Perusing the web as usual (over toast and Jack Daniels…not really)

All the bad news from around the world (that’s all it seems to be in the mainstream media…Doom & Gloom for 58 damn minutes and a 1 minute “puff piece” with a 15 second PSA.

No wonder other countries laugh at us.

To the world we are that most beautiful woman or handsomest of men…rich beyond measure. Strolling up and down the street with their heads held high and their clothes on inside out and backwards, with only change in their pockets.

We’re becoming a joke.

I think we have been for a while now.

I’m going to add quotes here and there to AMPLIFY my point

The web is a wonderful, inspired vehicle to many great places…amazing things.

But lately…they pissed me off!

All you see is murder, corruption, political intrigue, sex, more murder, natural disaster and scandals galore, and that’s only in Ohio!!

I’m sick of it!

Information is good….but I believe that too much information can be a bad thing and it’s causing a shift in our social structure, mores’, and national pride (Remember national pride? That’s something we used to have a lot of…)

**Happiness can exist only in acceptance.

– George Orwell

That’s starting to seem all too true…isn’t it?

Don’t get me wrong. I still have hope for my country and the world.

I fly “our” flag from my truck or my home.

As soon as I get home from abroad, it’s up within the first 5 minutes of ”reclaiming my domicile” routine.

That’s what makes it home for me.

Anywho…

So, this is what gave me an idea for the “Yesterday Prompt”.

Everybody screaming about the good old days…okay. Let’s break it down…my way

Yesterday, all my troubles seemed so far away

That’s because we were young and unafraid (“Les Miserable’s”?)

Untainted.

Protected by “Grown-ups” …real ones (at least to us) now…we know better.

Now it looks as though they’re (troubles) here to stay

Yes they are.

As long as good people do nothing

**The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don’t do anything about
it.

– Albert Einstein

Oh, I believe in yesterday
Suddenly, I’m not half the man I used to be
there’s a shadow hanging over me.
Oh, yesterday came suddenly

When we are consumed and overcome with the demands of adulthood, we are never as innocent as we were as children.

Get over it people say…not me.

We always wanted to hurry and grow up…so we could do what the big people do…smoke, drink, sit at the big table, stay up late, not have to go to school….you see my drift?

If a parent (seems to me at least) included the child in things…never used the “Because I said” bull shit answer and did not create a separation to be as formed, such as: “Parents/Children” or “Grown-ups/pains in the ass”.

What will our world be like when each generation that comes next is “generation fucked”?

Each successive generation has been raised or” lived with” the previous generation, that is hampered by increasingly flawed people. I dare to say all basically sociopaths to some extent. Think about sociopathic traits and tell me how off I am…seriously. It’s scary.

Why she had to go I don’t know she wouldn’t say
I said something wrong, now I long for yesterday

Yesterday is gone.

Yesterday is the only thing that can’t be changed…but it is constantly teaching us.

What do and did we say wrong…? Nothing…not a damn thing!

That’s my point I reckon. We stand here…and change nothing. Make little effort.

Edward R. Murrow weeps….”Good night and good luck…”

**That’s the reason they’re called lessons, because they lesson from day to day.
– Lewis Carroll 

Yesterday, love was such an easy game to play
Now I need a place to hide away
Oh, I believe in yesterday

Oh to be a child again. When our biggest concern was lightning bugs…and ice cream

I hate being a grown-up. Of course it has its perks…I get to (well, not lately) see naked girls, read dirty jokes (that I still don’t get) and buy beer without a shoplifting charge.

That’s about it.

Why she had to go I don’t know she wouldn’t say
I said something wrong, now I long for yesterday

Still crying about the past? You’ll miss the rest of your life

Can’t wait to see what God, Allah, Buddha or “He who has no name”, has in store for us next?

*Picture angry kids with a magnifying glass?”*

**I believe in God, but not as one thing, not as an old man in the sky. I believe that what people call God is something in all of us. I believe that what Jesus and Mohammed and Buddha and all the rest said was right. It’s just that the translations have gone wrong.
-John Lennon

Yesterday, love was such an easy game to play
now I need a place to hide away
Oh, I believe in yesterday

We were children…and life was grand. We could create…we could wonder…we could be amazed at the tiniest things.

Where did we lose it all?

We keep losing it to yesterday.

Why don’t we say anything? We always questioned our parents…always!

We hide away from reality. We use a claim of ignorance to cloak us. We accept all this daily life as something we can’t change….

Yesterday is the only thing that can’t be changed…but is constantly teaching us.

“Who am I?” you ask…

You are today.

If we don’t make changes in how we live our lives…how we teach and nurture our children, and allow others to intimidate us and persuade us against our very moral fiber…then we are lost.

I know what we’ll be…

Yesterday.

About treyzguy

I am so full of self-confidence and crap that I would worship myself against my own will.... Under penalty of death.

5 comments on “Yesterday Once More…

  1. Wow! I didn’t know you had all this deep stuff inside you. Your head must be about to burst with all it carries daily.
    What gets me is when I learn about a certain historical period and see the same mistakes which were made in those monarchies/dynasties/empires are happening again today. It is like the people in charge just don’t even take one friggin’ history class, or they bribed their way through it. There are so many examples of what works and what doesn’t I just don’t get why others don’t see it. I am constantly flabbergasted (love that word!) at what the ‘man gods’ do! I am like, ‘don’t they get what this is doing to others’, and ‘don’t they see how wrong their thinking and actions are’. I am always answered with a simple ‘no, they don’t see, because they choose not to’. So, I sit here and wonder how any person, man-god or not, can sit there making a huge salary, engage in actions which cost the government millions of dollars, and then not fund Head Start programs, food for at need children, and cancer treatments for anyone. I mean how to they sleep at night?
    I don’t even watch the news simply because it used to piss me off. Now they focus in on the stupidest stories over and over again (like Miley), instead of focusing in on the how and who are trying to fix things. The talking heads are so controlled by the man-gods, there is no freedom of the press anymore.
    I appreciate your thoughts. I am hearing you load and clear. I am personally a little frightened at what the world may hold for us in the near future, but alas, there is not a lot I can do about it from my little cave. I like your sharing of the world you see, as you see a lot more than most from your seat. Like the reservations: many people I know have never seen a real reservation. Even though to get our fireworks, especially in the off season, we have to go to one, but all that is there is a store, groceries, and gas. We don’t see the houses and the community as that is further off the road.
    Peace, and drive safely please.

    • Are you calling me a fat head?! LOL!!!
      The only thing that will save us, or bring us back, is that our country is a a nation of small towns. I still see pride there. I still see the 1950’s…

      • Good for you! I really don’t see a new start or a ‘getting back to real’ from my perspective, but remember it is limited from a cave.
        No you are not a fat head, well until you put on your crown, then all bets are off. LOL

  2. Well done. Liked the use of the song “Yesterday”

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

