9 Comments

Yesterday: Writing Prompt for CSB

sunrise-over-the-mountains-17063-1920x1200

Yesterday the world ended

I opened my eyes this morning

And the world had ended as I knew it to be

Today begins the yesterday of tomorrow

I will make it a good one

And my memories will cast no dark shadows on me

Tomorrow is not something that I can control

I will put my faith in the day

And tomorrow the world will begin again free

About S.K. Nicholls

is a steel magnolia from GA who currently resides with her rocket scientist husband in Central Florida. Even though she had a reputation as the class clown in grade school, she managed to successfully achieve a career in nursing that spanned thirty-five years. Putting down the stethoscope and picking up the pen, she started writing compelling, thought-provoking historic novels and riveting contemporary crime romps, telling it like it was and telling it like it is. Orphaned from her mother at an early age, she survived foster care, and in her youth resided in an orphanage in the North GA Mountains, the Ethel Harpst Home. Four adults call her mom and four little people call her grandmother. She enjoys reading, comedy shows, salt-water fishing, boating, and brewing Kombucha. Her family owns and operates one of the oldest and largest nudist resorts in the nation located in Florida, Cypress Cove.

9 comments on “Yesterday: Writing Prompt for CSB

  1. I love the line “Today begins the yesterday of tomorrow” lovely uplifting piece 🙂

  2. That picture is absolutely stunning! Beautiful poem 🙂

    • Thank you. It was inspired by something similar my grandmother told me when I asked her if she thought that I would live to see the end of the world.

      • It’s lovely when you remember back to some of the things that our Grandparents said isn’t it? In some ways they had such a simplistic view of life which was amazing consider what they had to live through. 🙂

      • She worked so hard. I have often wondered what she would have thought about the many high tech things we have today. She barely got introduced to microwave cooking when my sister bought one just before she passed away. It amazed her that you could thaw a pound of hamburger meat in five minutes without cooking it. I remember her old wringer washer. My life has been so much simpler in so many ways, and yet so much more complex.

      • I agree – I think in a lot of respects they had the right idea. We make our lives so complicated now and although they were poor and hard times, I reckon that they were ultimately less stressed, and possibly happier. My grandparents had two living rooms, a lounge and a dining room, but the lounge was called the ‘front room’ and it was never used as that was the posh room that they used for entertaining! We used to spend all our time squashed in the smaller of the two rooms – and no one every questioned it! Great times. 🙂

  3. So thoughtful, S.K. I second Helen’s comment about the line, “Today begins the yesterday of tomorrow.” There’s something sad but also uplifting about this poem.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

