6 Comments

Anticipation – Weekly Prompt – “Yesterday”

ID-10077399

freedigitalphotos.net

All of our yesterdays pale by comparison, for tomorrow we shall be wed. Today I am lost in anticipation. I sit in the quiet of my room, the lilac in the vase on my bedside table wafts the scent of spring – of new beginnings.

I ponder your words of yesterday. They ring in my head like a gong. You said, My feet are cold. Just that. And I wondered for six painful seconds if you had had a change of heart. But then I passed you your socks and you smiled at me lovingly. Our fingertips met and I felt that familiar tingle – the one which told me that we were truly meant for one another.

The stark, snowy whiteness of my dress, with lace like frost on a window, hangs from a hook on my door. I will wear it with pride.

Let all of our yesterdays pale, let my anticipation fill me to strenuous heights, for tomorrow I shall be your wife.

Another little something for “Yesterday,” the October 13th Weekly Prompt .

About LindaGHill

There's a writer in here, clawing her way out.

6 comments on “Anticipation – Weekly Prompt – “Yesterday”

  1. Reblogged this on Get on my plate! and commented:

    For the Weekly Prompt on The Community Storyboard. Please come visit!

  2. Liked the part where the guy says something that could be interpreted the wrong way but got handed sox instead. Great.

  3. Oh i love this thou i feel all the yesterdays led to that point so shouldn’t be forgotten. 🙂 loved reading this short piece 🙂

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

