9 Comments

Weekly Prompt for October 20th – Frost is and Does

Here is my interpretation of the Weekly Prompt “Frost,” created by Susan Nichols

 

Old Man Frost by John W. Howell ©2013

I watched this old guy struggle with the heavy outer door and finally make it into the bank. He crossed the marble foyer and looked like he was going to end up at my cage. I could see he was dressed in some baggy pants, a checkered shirt, and was wearing a hounds tooth fabric hat like the ones I’ve seen on old guys driving a Mercury Marquis in the fast lane at about thirty miles an hour. He was carrying what looked like an ecologically friendly supermarket shopping bag. Sure enough he came up to my position.

“Can I help you sir?”

“You look like you are able to do that.”

“Excuse me sir?”

“Well you asked if you could help me and I made the judgment that you looked able. Now if you had said, ‘may I help you sir?’ I would have said ‘Yes you can.’”

“Yes sir. I get it. Bad grammar on my part.”

“Don’t feel alone son. I hear bad grammar all the time.”

“Yes sir. May I help you?”

“My name is Frost. Jack Frost.”

“Yes sir. . . er Jack Frost?”

“Yeah kid and before you go on, let me say I’ve heard them all over the last eighty years.”

“I’m sure you have sir. What can I do for you?”

“I would like to make a withdrawal and I don’t have any of the forms.”

“No problem sir. I can help you right here. I’ll fill them out for you. Do you have an account number?”

“No I don’t. Can’t remember where I put the darn card with the numbers on it.”

“Here I’ll just look up your account under your name. Could I have your address as well?”

“Sure it’s. . . Damn I can’t remember it either.”

“Oh sir don’t worry, I’ll just look up your name and then maybe there will be only one Jack Frost.”

“Yeah I don’t imagine there will be a lot of them.”

“Okay sir. I don’t seem to be able to find your name in our system.”

“Well that is real strange isn’t it? I could’ve sworn I had an account here.”

“Looks like you don’t. Maybe it is another bank that looks like this one.”

“Yeah you may be right. At my age everything pretty much looks the same.”

“Can I help you any further?”

“Yeah you can. As long as I am here why don’t you open your cash drawer and pull out all the money and pass it to me.”

“You must be joking sir. You know it is a federal offense to rob a bank.”

“So who’s robbing? I am making a withdrawal like I said I wanted to do.”

“But sir you have no money in this bank so you are taking someone else’s money which is robbery.”

“Have you touched the silent alarm button?”

“No. I don’t think you are serious and you should just turn around and leave. No one has to know.”

“Good. Now what do you think I have in this bag that I am eventually going to put the money in?”

“I have no idea sir.”

“Does dynamite ring a bell with you?”

“Dynamite?”

“Shush. Do you want it to go off?”

“No for heaven’s sake.”

“Here take a look. What do you see?”

“Well some sticks and wires.”

“That’s right. Notice this wire that is wrapped around my finger? That’s the one that makes this whole shebang go bang if you catch my drift. Even if I drop the bag the wire will pull the trigger, so be real careful and give me the money.”

“Yes sir. I must say I hope you are very proud of yourself by coming in here and scaring me to death not to mention putting everyone at risk.”

“Yeah sure. I’m a bad one alright. Keep shoveling the money.”

“There is no more in my drawer.”

“Okay so you need to give me about five minutes to clear the bank. You don’t want to be responsible for people getting hurt if the  bomb inadvertently goes off. After five minutes you can call in the Marines for all I care.”

“One more question before you go.”

“Yeah what?”

“Your name. Is it really Jack Frost?”

“Kid, I hope you have a strong person in your life.”

“Why’s that.”

“You have to be the most gullible person on Earth and you need someone to watch out for you.  See ya around.”

“Yeah see ya. . . I mean. . . go to hell . . .”

CSB-Logo-John

About John W. Howell

I have been working in business for over forty years and now have the time to work in special areas of interest. My passion has always been to create compelling stories of fiction. I have authored two novels and am working on my third. The first novel is still in manuscript form and being utilized as a door stop in the laundry room. The second is a contemporary fiction novel of 89,000 words and is complete and I am currently seeking a publisher. I also write poetry but have not had the guts to share any with anyone. The one time I read a piece to a person their only comment was, “it doesn’t rhyme.” I will continue to write and hopefully my blog, Fiction Favorites at www.johnwhowell.com will provide some entertainment and an interesting thought or two. I live by the Gulf of Mexico with my wife Molly and an assortment of loving pets.

9 comments on “Weekly Prompt for October 20th – Frost is and Does

  1. Cool short story John. The suspense was killing me; however, I could actually see an old geezer getting away with this crime.

  2. […] here is a little something for this weeks prompt ‘Frost’.   In the summer, When the sun shone. We both knew, that Our hearts had been won.   In […]

  3. […] here is a little something for this weeks prompt ‘Frost’, on the Community Storyboard. Why not head over there and have a go yourself.   In the summer, […]

  4. That was fun to read. Hard to hate the old guy.

  5. I loved it, John. I agree with Charles, kinda hard to hate the ol’ rascal.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

