17 Comments

Little Jack Frost (Frost Prompt)

Oh, little Jack Frost get lost, get lost
Little Jack Frost get lost
You know you don’t do a thing but put a bite on my toes
Freeze up the ground and take the bloom from the rose

“Shaddap!”

“What’cha singing for? Don’t you know singing’s forbidden?”

Singing was forbidden – and songs from Before, well those were a heresy all unto themselves. My mother remembered singing. She sang defiantly even as they cut her down. She taught me her songs, just as I will teach them to my young – provided I’m ever able to get out of this rat-hole they call Big City.

My mother told me she was brought here as a child of 12, not long after the carnage in the air eclipsed the sun. All that was left of us – left of humanity – gathered here, it seemed. The world outside the confines of the camp was deemed unsafe. Eventually, she said, the label ‘unsafe’ simply became the way to control desperate citizens.

They call the countryside outside Big City the Outer Zone. They still say it’s not safe, although the air has been clear for nearly ten years. It can’t be so bad – people who venture out there are allowed to return.

No one returns.

I’ve heard rumors that the Oligarch is going to start sending out the squads to round up deserters – for their own safety of course. That people leave and never come back makes me wonder what is out there. She showed me pictures – outlawed of course – but it’s not the same as seeing and breathing it in. Still, I treasure the pictures. I cannot imagine what she had to go through to keep them private. Here, in the bowels of the city, nothing is sacred. Nothing is pure and nothing, absolutely nothing, is your own.

Oh, little Jack Frost—

“Knock it off, Caroline. You’re going to get us all in trouble.”

“Leave her be. She can sing if she wants to.”

I looked up at the new voice. He was tall and lean. Covered in stubble with more than a few cuts and scars, his face wasn’t something I’d call handsome but there was something about the eyes. They twinkled. Down here, among the drones of Big City, nothing twinkled.

I smiled and the stranger hunkered down next to me.

“Caroline?”

I nodded. I liked the way my name sounded when he said it.

“I always knew I would meet you. I always knew I would love you. You and me, we’re going to have a baby one day and he’s going to lead these people out of here.”

If my eyebrows could have taken off from my head, they would have. Twinkly or not, this man was nuts.

“Oh yeah? And what’s that baby’s name going to be? Jack? Or maybe Frost?”

“No, his name is Samuel.”

Shivers ran down my spine that had nothing to do with the cold. My mother had been crazy the night the squad took her. But her crazy was something that terrified the Oligarch and maybe that’s why he’d authorized her murder. She’d told me to remember that name. She told me to remember Samuel.

I held out my hand. The man before me took it and planted a soft kiss on the palm.

“My name is Doyle. If you come with me now, I can promise you signing – as much as you want. That’s about all I can promise right now, but if you give me time, there will be more.”

“Will there be love?”

He pulled me to my feet. “There already is.”

For the Frost prompt of October 20. Also part of the world established in The Heresy of Before.

By Dean

By Dean

About KM Sullivan

Descended of pirates and revolutionaries, KM Sullivan is a lover and student of all things Irish. Born in the States, she is a dual US/Irish citizen, and studied history and politics at University College, Dublin – although, at the time, she seriously considered switching to law, if only so she could attend lectures at the castle on campus. She lives in the American Midwest with her son, two cats and a pesky character in her head named D (but you can call him Dubh). Her first book, Changelings: Into the Mist, a young adult historical fantasy is available now on Amazon and Barns and Noble. She can be found writing with said character at her blog, The D/A Dialogues.

17 comments on “Little Jack Frost (Frost Prompt)

  1. I like the forbidden song. And Love.

  2. Oh! I liked this, Katie!
    Ellespeth

  3. Love the world you crafted here and I’m curious to hear more. Sounds like the prologue of a big story.

    • It is – a big story that is going to take a lot of ‘percolating’ in my head to get right. There’s something very freeing about writing stories set in the future – similar research requirements, but no ‘but this is how it *was*’ requirements.

      • Definitely more flexibility. Though, I think people spend too much time analyzing and tearing down books to make sure they’re realistic. Never understood the mentality where a person claims they can suspend disbelief, but only as long as it’s scientifically accurate disbelief.

      • I think those are the nitpickers that are going to find *something* wrong with the book. They don’t want to enjoy the story (which is an odd thing to me – I don’t read unless it is to enjoy!).

      • They want perfection and they don’t have a realistic definition. At least some of them are like that.

  4. Wow, I was so hooked in, left me needing to know more 🙂

  5. The color is amazing. Really rich. I have to wonder what is going to happen. Great story.

  6. […] D: And take a gander at A’s response, Little Jack Frost […]

  7. […] A setting, a preamble, an introduction – whatever you want to call it, it’s all in the name of the WordPress Challenge of the Week: The Setting’s the Thing . Samuel’s intro is also part of The Heresy of Before universe, established here and here. […]

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

