3 Comments

Ghost!

ghostRaynhamBest

 

It had been a long hard day at work shifting and lugging the stock, and I was glad to be home.

I turned the key in the door and opened it, almost falling into the house with sheer exhaustion.

I slammed the door shut behind me and rested my head against and let out a loud sigh of relief.

A cold chill suddenly shot down my spine as the sigh echoed, but in a slightly different pitch to my own.

Eyes still closed, I raised an eyebrow curiously.

I slowly turned around, hoping it was all in my imagination.

Nope. It wasn’t.

There it stood, almost invisible. I could barely make out its shape.

Was it male? Female? I couldn’t tell.

“What the h–”

Before I could finish my sentence it flew from the stairs and shot around the living room like a fly, looking for its way out.

It bounced off the walls: left, right and center, three or four times before coming back to its perch on the stares.

It was looking at me. I could feel it. I couldn’t see the creatures eyes, yet I knew they were staring directly at me.

“YOU!”

 

It wailed and took off again, this time in my direction. I raised my hands to protect myself, and instantly thought how stupid of me, as the ghost–or whatever it was–flew right through me and out through the front door.

I stood there in shock for what felt like an eternity but surely must have only been for a minute.

I turned and opened the door, looked out into the dark night air. Did I honestly expect to see it again.

Until the day I died I never saw it again.

Aged 89, I lay on my bed, breathing my last few moments. My living room was now my bedroom, my bed facing the stairs.

There it stood, perched on the bottom of the stairs like it had all those years ago.

I breathed my last breath and with that

We both disappeared.

CSB-Logo-Dean

 

About Dean

My name is Dean Kealy and I live in Ireland. I am freelance writer/content creator.

3 comments on “Ghost!

  1. Sounds like it just wanted a friend.

  2. The professor most certainly will not get any sleep tonight with such a disturbing photo! Haunted indeed! Manothunder! He must grab a cup of Sotsiz tea to calm himself. Do you believe it?

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

