9 Comments

Childhood Memory Prompt

Hopscotch and tea parties
Mud pies and make believe
Imaginary friends
Playing outside after dark

Childhood days of a simpler time

Roller skates and lemonade stands
Games of Tag and Red Rover
Toys created from our imagination
Sleds in the winter, bikes in the summer

Childhood days of a simpler time

Doll buggys and Candyland
Crayons and books everywhere
Pin the tail on the donkey
Salt clay and ball and jacks

Childhood days of a simpler time

Fresh air tired us out
Miles run each day without prompting
Fresh vegetables from the garden
Apples picked straight from the tree

Childhood days of a simpler time

About Pamela Beckford

I'm a person, poet and a blogger. I have opinions that are solely my own. I am an avid reader and love to connect with people all through my life.

9 comments on “Childhood Memory Prompt

  1. Brought a tear to my eye. Such nice and simple days.

  2. Wobdeeful, Pamela! I watch toddlers and kids in my retirement and love to watch them play tag – rougher than we were allowed to – and have tea parties with some sort of exotic foods 😛 I still see hopscotch boards drawn on the sidewalks – not just with white chalk 😛
    You know what? I was one of the last ones called in a game of Red Rover…
    I enjoyed this memory with you
    Ellespeth

  3. I like how it pauses, to be reflected upon. Sweet. Such times as these might never be repeated. Do children play like this anymore? I don’t see it at the city parks where I take my granddaughter. They seem to want to be entertained with activities by adults now, or huddle in cliques.

  4. This brought such wonderful sweet memories! Thank you for this poem 🙂 The reference to Candyland got me … it was one of my favorite board games 🙂

  5. “Childhood days of a simpler time” lovely 🙂

  6. I remember them as well. Nice poem Pam. Or Nice Pam Poem 🙂

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

