3 Comments

Tick….

image

It is quiet now…

There are no sounds other than mine

I can’t hear any wind outside or in…

Sometimes I forget to breathe when I listen

Gone are the sounds a younger man lived through
Of his kids
Of his wife

Gone are the sounds that they made when I was a big part of their life

Gone are the sounds of the children I knew when they would fight over dad

A knee for each was the best way to settle this great dispute, or a candy bribe

How about a freeze pop, just give dad a few minutes….

Then… We can play….

The sound of minutes passing then, slid by unheard…

The children are quiet as they wait for dad to act like a kid.

But now the sound of time passing is a background toll that thrums through each second of silence

So still, so quiet

How much is it worth now…?

Those minutes that I let slide by?

How much would I give to have any given second back?

ANYTHING…. Everything says I…

I never noticed that a child’s smile or giggle is faster than light, and twice as bright

How many smiles can pass in a second then? Before they had to stop… And wait on dad?

I played at being grown up. I played at being their dad.

I didn’t know what I was doing…

But I never knew that time is real

I never knew that when a moment passed, I lost claim to it.

If I had only known the worth of time…

If I had only known my own worth in my child’s eyes.

If only I had known that I was the greatest thing in their lives…

Other than mom… 😉

My children spent every minute trying to get me to “Look dad… Watch me!”

They spent their childhood trying to get my attention…

Now I’m spending the rest of mine trying to get them to hear me cry “Look at me…!”

If I had only known then, what I know now.

Maybe it wouldn’t be so quiet…

About treyzguy

I am so full of self-confidence and crap that I would worship myself against my own will.... Under penalty of death.

3 comments on “Tick….

  1. Very deep and true. Most people don’t realize how quickly time passes, especially when children are growing. One minute they’re a toddler and the next they’re a teenager.

  2. Oh how I think of this often. I can’t believe how fast they grow up and become interested in other things. A gentle reminder that time is precious. Also, I don’t hate it.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

