10 Comments

Color Him Home

image

This is what I see
When I greet the day
Ever changing canvas of sky and earth
Every texture, every color and every way

I am blessed with a new rendering of Vista or Plains
A new acrylic of mountains, an air brush of rain

I’ve beheld blue snowflakes fall from a gray sky
I’ve seen green cactus thrive amongst the arid and dry

I’ve seen city traffic stop for a gaggle of geese
Road rage absent, only patience and ease.

The light goes from red to green as the gaggle waddles by
No angry horns or gestures or vulgar cries

But today… I saw that the sky was crying…

I stood in the median and held The Flag up high as I watched the funeral possession for a 19 year old hero pass by.

I stood there in the tears as the rain filled my eyes
Crying for a boy
A strangers son that had died

My canvas is gray now
I need to be alone
Praying that…
As the days light leaves us behind
It leads a young soldier home

I hope we see the morrow and keep our thoughts for this child…

No longer watching his canvas

No longer…. At all.

I will cry more tonight, and Thank God that my children are safe.

P. S

It was a funeral procession for a 19 year old Marine medic that was killed in Afghanistan.

He graduated high school last May, got married the following spring before deploying.

There must have been 1000 police, fire and emergency vehicles in that line I saw today.

I parked my truck on the shoulder of the interstate as they passed by on the other side.

Lights flashing, sirens wail

There were other people parked, standing on the overpasses and bridges with flags, signs and salutes. 

I was moved enough to take my flag out of the truck.

I stood in the middle of an interstate, on the outskirts of Portland, Oregon in the rain…

Waving my flag as the hearse went by…

I lost it.

I don’t know what got me to start crying…..

I saluted the hearse….

In the tears as the rain filled my eyes

About treyzguy

I am so full of self-confidence and crap that I would worship myself against my own will.... Under penalty of death.

10 comments on “Color Him Home

  1. It was a very emotional moment. I might have cried too. Apparently it made you appreciate what you have and what you are able to enjoy each day.

    Peace & Love

  2. Yes.
    And you painted it well with your words.

  3. Very emotional and I don’t blame you for crying. Think most of us would do the same.

  4. Wow, Trey. Simply astounding. I could see myself back at the funeral and procession for Sgt. Brian Romines. The emotion of this poem flowed out as I read it. I cried, right along with you! Beautiful tribute!

  5. Tears are good. Crying is therapeutic, cathartic, relief, sharing. A moment shared by many. Sadness for one and for the common experience. I cry at funerals of people I don’t know at church. It’s a humbling experience to be at a funeral. Especially when it’s for someone so young.x

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

